EndNote: Import References

Get acquainted with EndNote Online, a powerful citation management system provided by RIT Libraries
//infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43307

Importing saved references to EndNote

Several major reference sources require special instructions for importing references to EndNote.

Importing references from Summon

To export a citation for any Summon search result, select More Options from the upper right corner of any search result.  Choose to Export to: EndNote format from the list of options.  This will generate a file in the RIS format, which can be processed by EndNote.

Import the RIS file into EndNote by selecting Import Reference under the Collect tab - use "RefMan RIS" as the Import Option.

 

Entering references manually

To manually type in a reference that you can save and use in bibliographies you create with EndNote, click on the "New Reference" link found on the Collect tab.

Be sure to choose a reference type from the drop-down menu that corresponds to the kind of reference you are creating (book, journal article, etc.).

Fill in the appropriate reference information in the fields - most fields are optional.

Unfortunately, there is effectively no way to import a bibliography from a word processing document or spreadsheet into EndNote.  You must either search and import the references from databases or enter them manually using "New Reference."

Importing references from Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows exporting of reference information into EndNote.

To use this feature, you must set your Scholar Settings to include links to import citations into a bibliography manager in your search results.  There are a few different choices - choose the EndNote option.  Direct export via these links will only work if you have the browser toolbar for Firefox or Internet Explorer installed - without the toolbar, you'll have to save the resulting file and import it using the instructions in the box below.

Importing saved references from text files

Several major databases do not support direct export of references to EndNote.  If you are not using one of the confirmed direct export databases (see Direct Export of References page of this guide), try one of the Capture tools described on the Capture References page of this guide.  If the Capture tools do not work, you must import the references manually. 

In order to import references when direct export or automatic capture is not possible, you must save your references to a file and import the file using an import filter that corresponds to the source database.  Look for a menu command in the database that is labeled "Export," "Download," or "Cite," and make sure you choose the file format that has EndNote in its name.

To use this feature, click on the "Import References" link on the Collect tab in EndNote.  Browse to the saved file on your computer, then choose an Import Option that matches your source database and a destination for your references (usually a reference group you have created).

For assistance with this feature, please contact the library.

Access EndNote Basic Online

Login to LibApps

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.