InfoGuides: Statistics: Journals, Books, Databases

Last Updated: Feb 19, 2024 11:15 AM

Databases, Books, Journals

The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics by Yadolah Dodge
Call Number: Springer Electronic Books
ISBN: 9780387328331
Publication Date: 2008-02-21
The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics presents the essential information about statistical tests, concepts, and analytical methods in language that is accessible to practitioners and students of the vast community using statistics in medicine, engineering, physical science, life science, social science, and business/economics. The reference is alphabetically arranged to provide quick access to the fundamental tools of statistical methodology and biographies of famous statisticians. The more than 500 entries include definitions, history, mathematical details, limitations, examples, references, and further readings. All entries include cross-references as well as the key citations. The back matter includes a timeline of statistical inventions. This reference will be an enduring resource for locating convenient overviews about this essential field of study.

RIT Scholar Works This link opens in a new window
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Articles in social science, science and technology disciplines. RIT's subscription includes these databases: Web of Science (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Medline, and ISI Proceedings.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Online Journals from the American Chemical Society. Includes over 55 peer-reviewed journals and magazines. With the ACS Journal Archives, searchable access is provided to 3 million pages pages of original chemistry dating back to 1879. Also includes access to the ACS Style Guide, 3rd edition. Located under ACS eBooks.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Identifies and provides reviews of journal papers and book chapters in math and related disciplines.
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-1 database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. Basic Search Demo and Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.
Proquest Business and Economics This link opens in a new window
Search a group of databases containing business related newspapers, trade magazines, scholarly periodicals, press releases, market & country research and dissertations. Most of the content is immediately available in full-text. Some full-text content is delayed by the publisher or available in other databases or through Inter-Library Loan.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets).
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from technical journals, trade magazines, and conference proceedings in computer science and related disciplines from the Association for Computing Machinery. Subscription now includes ACM EBOOKS which is a new series of high quality books for the computer science community, published by ACM in collaboration with Morgan & Claypool Publishers.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
An engineering database covering chemical and process engineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, civil, mechanical and materials engineering.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a multi-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. It includes Environmental Science and Pollution Management, Environmental Impact Statements & Digests in full text, and AGRICOLA, the world's leading bibliographic database of agricultural science literature. This was formerly known as Environmental Science & Pollution Management.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
An online learning platform with video tutorials in a number of disciplines: 3D, video, business, photography, web design, graphic design, and more. Many tutorials are captioned. As of December 14, 2021, LinkedIn Learning will no longer be accessible to learners logging in from the Chinese Mainland.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Tool for comparing and evaluating citation data from journals in the sciences and social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
- CDC data & statistics
- CDC-Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Clinical Trials database and resourceA service of the U.S. National Institutes of Health,
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Learn more About Clinical Studies and About This Site, including relevant History, Policies, and Laws.
National Oceanic Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
U.S. Department of Commerce ( international trade, (census, economics, NOAA environment, laboratory, etc.)
US export and import statistics
US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Past, Present, and Future of Statistical Science by Xihong Lin (Editor); David L. Banks (Editor); Christian Genest (Editor); Geert Molenberghs (Editor); David W. Scott (Editor); Jane-Ling Wang (Editor)
Call Number: ebrary Electronic Books - license is for 1 user at a time
ISBN: 9781482204964
Publication Date: 2014-03-26
Statistical Learning with Sparsity by Trevor Hastie; Robert Tibshirani; Martin Wainwright
Call Number: ebrary Electronic Books - license is for 1 user at a time
ISBN: 9781498712163
Publication Date: 2015-05-07

Now is the time to start networking for your new job by attending association meetings and conferences.

Presenting at these events will provide greater visibility for you by prospective employers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook by the US Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics provides job trends, salaries,etc.

American Statistical Association - $17.00 Student Membership - Available to students enrolled in a degree or certificate program in a college or university. Includes all benefits of the Regular ASA Membership.

American Mathematical Society

Society for Clinical Trials (SCT