Zotero: Creating Bibliographies

Zotero is a reference management tool that helps you to organize your references
//infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43307

Creating Quick Bibliographies

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. Right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography.

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor. This method works with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Creating Your Bibliography While You Write

Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and LibreOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write, and it automatically installs with Zotero if you have Word or LibreOffice on your computer.

Zotero also offers a plugin for Google Docs that comes pre-installed with the connector in Firefox or Chrome.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button.  Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.

The toolbar looks different on different operating systems and versions of Word. Mousing over the toolbar will pop up each button's function if they're not clearly labeled.

More information on Creating Bibliographies with Zotero

Adding Additional Styles to Zotero

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style from within Zotero:
  1. Select Edit - Preferences - Cite - Get Additional Styles.  This will open the Zotero Style Repository in a new window.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Click the name of the style. 
  4. The new style will appear in your style list.

To install a style from the web:

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Click the name of the style.
  4. The Zotero Connector for your browser will ask you if you want to add the style.  Click OK.
  5. The new style will install and appear in your style list.

Instant Bibliographies with ZoteroBib

Don't feel like installing any software?  Just need to create a bibliography right now, on the fly?  ZoteroBib is for you. 

Simply copy identifying information about your source (such as an ISBN, DOI, or even a URL) into ZoteroBib to build your bibliography source by source.  Then, when you are done, select a citation style and export to an RTF or HTML file, or to your clipboard for pasting into a document.

For detailed instructions on using ZoteroBib, consult their FAQ.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon