Encyclopedias (many are online and there are print encyclopedias you can check out) provide background information about diversity issues which can help you find topic ideas. There are also books offering in-depth scholarly analyses on such topics.
Use keywords like multicultural AND encyclopedia, religion AND encyclopedia, African American* AND encyclopedia, Hispanic* AND encyclopedia, Native American* AND encyclopedia and (gay OR lesbian) AND encyclopedia. If interested in Deaf-Blind education, check out the online Gallaudet Encyclopedia. Also, check out the Sage Encyclopedia of Deaf Studies. Often these encyclopedias have chapters about educational experiences of these groups.
The Encyclopedia of African-American Education
Historically Black Colleges and Universities: An Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender history in America.
Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans
If you are interested in the broader topics of education and special education, look up education AND encyclopedia in the library catalog.
Encyclopedia of of Education
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education (there is a chapter on deaf education),
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Encyclopedia of Special Education
If you already have a citation, use the Citation LInker to find the book or article.
Tip: Use the bibliography at the end of the book chapters or encyclopedia articles to discover more works.
Check out these ebook databases for more titles related to your topic.
Many books are available in the library but sometimes you will identify books we have not bought. Use Information Delivery Service (IDS) to order books or book chapters. This is a free service.
If we do not have the book in our Collection or the ConnectNY Collection, order it from IDS.
IDS requests usually take 3-5 business days. When the item arrives you will receive an email. If it is an entire book it will be available for check-out at the Circulation Desk. If it is a book chapter it will usually be delivered as a PDF into your IDS account.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
