InfoGuides: Economics, RIT Croatia: Web Resources

Last Updated: Jan 29, 2024 4:22 PM

Web Resources

A Glossary of Political Economy Terms
Angus Maddison On-line - Dr. Maddison's site contains links to his books, Monitoring the World Economy and The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective. Excerpts from the books and data from within are provided.
Who First Called it a "Fiscal Cliff"? BBC News - Global Economy
Charles Booth Online Archive: Survey of lif and labour in London (1886-1903)
Bureau of Labor Statistics - US.
Central Bank of Albania Central Bank of the Republic of Kosovo
Croatian National Bank
DataFerrett - data analysis and extraction tool to customize US data (Federal, State, Local)
Economic Research - Federal Reserve Bank, US and International time series from 80 sources
European Economics Association - International Organization
GPO Access Free government information, including keyword searching of the Congressional Record and the Federal Register and the Economic Report of the President. Also includes the Economics Indicators: Main Page
International Labour Organization - A United National agency assisting with international labour standards. The site contains statistics and database information.
International Economic Organizations (IMF and World Bank)
International Monetary Fund: Financial Crisis
Labor and Business History: Virtual Library with information of interest for labor and business historians, political and social scientists, economist and others with historical interests. Country information provided.
Oxford Economic Forecasting "economic analysis for business"
WorkforceNewYork :workforce industry data & Economic Review
World Bank: Doing Business
World Bank: Financial Crisis
World Trade Organization - International forum for governments negotiating trade agreements
Yahoo Finance Resources

Resource Guides

Business and Economics
Internet Public Library 2 (IPL2)
RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
Listing of economic Internet sites

Blogs

Economics Roundtable: Aggregates economic blogs

Economist's View by Mark Thoma, a macroeconomist at the University of Oregon. A one-stop shop.

Greg Mankiw's Blog - Harvard economist and former George W. Bush policy advisor

Why Nation's Fail - The origins of Power, Prosperity, and Poverty

EconBrowser - Analyis of current economic conditions and policy

Economic Development Data

AidData - Open data for international development. Research and development lab striving to improve development outcomes by making data more accessible
Enterprise Surveys - Representative samples of an economy's private sector including 130,000 companies in 125 economies
Key Development Data and Statistics - World Bank
World Bank Private Participation in Infrastructre Project Database - data on approximately 5,000 infrastructure projects in 139 low and middle income countries.

Public Opinion Polls

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Located at Cornell University, the Roper Center is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. The Center’s mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and abroad. Collection contains data from the 1930s to the present and includes more than 22,000 datasets.

Odium Institute Dataverse Network

This is a public opinion database maintained by the University of North Carolina contains more than 230,000 questions from surveys conducted since 1958. It is the repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data as well as several other polls.