InfoGuides: PSYC 101 Deaf Psychology, Mental Health, & Counseling: Scholarly Journals

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2023 4:18 PM

Finding Scholarly Articles

Image of journal cover Deaf Studies and Deaf Education The library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few Deaf core journals that publish the most articles related to Deaf and Psychology topics.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International,
Deaf Worlds
Sign Language Studies
Volta Review
Deaf Studies Digital Journal

Trade Magazine
Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education

You can search within the journal to retrieve articles or use the databases below. Use the A-Z Journal List to find journal print and online holdings.

Tip: You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Start With These Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
When you get in, look above the search bar, and click appropriate databases for your search, ie, ERIC, eBooks, Communication & Mass Media, Health Source, and Professional Development to do a multi-database search within EBSCO.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
When you get in, check off appropriate databases above the search bar such as: eBook Central, PsychART, PsychINFO, Education, Theses & Dissertations, Social Sciences, Health Management and Psychology to broaden your search.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues. The NOVELNY program and its online resources (currently from Gale and Britannica) will cease on June 30, 2024.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.

Other Relevant Databases

SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine. SpringerLink Help
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

Need more? Try these!

Experimental Psychology Databases
The databases listed above are the key subject-focused databases for this discipline, but there are other databases that might be useful to your research depending on your topic. Check out this link to view a more extensive list of databases with scholarly articles related to psychology, specifically experimental psychology.
School Psychology Databases
The databases listed above are the key subject-focused databases for this discipline, but there are other databases that might be useful to your research depending on your topic. Check out this link to view a more extensive list of databases with scholarly articles related to psychology, specifically school psychology.