InfoGuides: Deaf Theatre and Drama: Scholarly Article Databases

Last Updated: Apr 24, 2024 3:36 PM

Finding Scholarly Articles

The background is medium blue and on the left-hand side, there is a white outlined rectangular box with an image of a gold spikes logo.

The library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few core journals that publish the most articles related to deaf issues.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International,
Deaf Worlds
Sign Language Studies
Volta Review
Deaf Studies Digital Journal

If you have a citation, try the Citation Linker to locate materials.

Tip: Check the bibliography or references at the end of articles to find more works. You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Start With These Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
When you get in the database, look at the Choose Databases section above the search bar and check off the appropriate databases such as Newspaper Source, PsycINFO, ERIC, Communication and Mass Media, and others that fit your topic search.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center is a comprehensive literature database featuring biographical entries and author portraits, critical essays, reviews, overviews of frequently studied works, and thousands of full-text poems, short stories, and plays.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
When you get in this database, look above the search bar and check off the following as appropriate: Arts & Humanities, Newspapers, LIterature and Theater

Other Relevant Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

Recommended Citation Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); Delivered via the Web of Science platform. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.