InfoGuides: NENG 231 Bridge to College English: Brain-Deaf

Last Updated: Jan 29, 2024 4:22 PM

Finding Info on the Deaf Brain

The deaf brain has been studied by scientists like Peter Hauser and Marc Marschark. Check out the book Deaf Cognition: Foundations and Outcomes. The Science Learning Center on Visual Language (VL2) at Gallaudet also has scientists such as Laura-Ann Petitto who study and publish on the deaf brain.You can find research papers and articles on the website. Use keywords like the deaf brain AND neuroscience or deaf AND cognition to find information on this topic.If you have a citation and want to look up a journal, use the Periodicals search box below.

Search the Library Catalog

What does MORE do for me?

Tag with the word more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Start with these Databases

EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Check off the following databases (depending on your topic): Academic Search Elite, Communication and Mass Media, eBooks PsycINFO, ERIC, Professional Development and others.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
When you get in, look at the top and click on databases to check off appropriate databases for your topic: eBook Central, ERIC, Education, Psychology, and others.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help

The National Library of Medicine database includes PubMed, MEDLINE, as well as other resources.

More Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine. SpringerLink Help
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.