Here are examples of interpreting and encyclopedias or handbooks as well as books about health interpreting below. Many are e-books available 24/7 online. When looking for books using our catalog, use keywords like (deaf OR sign language) AND (translat* OR interpret*) AND (health OR medic*) to find works.
Online students, if you need a book we do not have, please search our Connect NY (see link below) for books and use Interlibrary Loan services (ILL) to order the book as both are free services. Note that it can take up to 5 business days to receive materials from ILL services, so plan accordingly. Set up your ILL account now during class so you are ready to order books and articles.
Local RIT patrons, allow yourself time to order the books and get them as it can take up to 2 -5 business days to receive books from Connect NY. There are some kinks to work out with Connect NY's new platform. Please follow these directions until it's fixed.
When users click on the request button on the catalog record of the book they want to order:
• a new tab opens, prompting users to select an institution and log in
• the user is returned to the screen they were on previously (search results or item record)
• The user still needs to click the "Request" button again to start the request.
• You can continue to use Interlibrary Loan for articles requests.
You will be informed the book is here. Local RIT faculty and staff can request delivery of the book to their offices using this form.
Articles requests from Interlibrary loans are usually fast, especially if you have the doi number of the article--you can get it within an hour! DO NOT PAY for articles, as you can get them for free.
If you are local, you can apply for an RRLC Access Library Pass. This allows you to visit area libraries and check out materials such as the University of Rochester.
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Health
The Routledge Handbook of Translation and Health provides a bridge between translation studies and the burgeoning field of health humanities, which seeks novel ways of understanding health and illness. As discourses around health and illness are dependent on languages for their transmission, impact, spread, acceptance and rejection in local settings, translation studies offers a wealth of data, theoretical approaches and methods for studying health and illness globally. Translation and health intersect in a multitude of settings, historical moments, genres, media and users. This volume brings together topics ranging from interpreting in healthcare settings to translation within medical sciences, from historical and contemporary travels of medicine through translation to areas such as global epidemics, disaster situations, interpreting for children, mental health, women's health, disability, maternal health, queer feminisms and sexual health, and nutrition. Contributors come from a wide range of disciplines, not only from various branches of translation and interpreting studies, but also from disciplines such as psychotherapy, informatics, health communication, interdisciplinary health science and classical Islamic studies. Divided into four sections and each contribution written by leading international authorities, this timely Handbook is an indispensable resource for all students and researchers of translation and health within translation and interpreting studies, as well as medical and health humanities.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies is the authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting. Drawing on the expertise of an international team of specialist contributors, this single-volume reference presents the state of the art in interpreting studies in a much more fine-grained matrix of entries than has ever been seen before. For the first time all key issues and concepts in interpreting studies are brought together and covered systematically and in a structured and accessible format. With all entries alphabetically arranged, extensively cross-referenced and including suggestions for further reading, this text combines clarity with scholarly accuracy and depth, defining and discussing key terms in context to ensure maximum understanding and ease of use. Practical and unique, this Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies presents a genuinely comprehensive overview of the fast growing and increasingly diverse field of interpreting studies.
If there are books "off-site", you can request the item. See this video that explains the process or follow these directions for LOCAL on-campus patrons. If you are an online student, please use the interlibrary loan system to request the book and have it delivered to your home.
For local RIT patrons on campus, here are the directions:
Click on the Request tab above the search bar.
Click on Request RIT copy.
Type in your username and password. Mark your selection and click Request Selected Item.
You will get an email within 1-3 days that the item is ready for pick-up at the library.
After you are informed that the book is available, and if you are faculty or staff, you can request the item be delivered to your office using this form.
Deaf Professionals and Designated Interpreters
The Demand Control Schema: Interpreting as a Practice Profession
Investigations in Healthcare InterpretingUse of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
