Encyclopedias are a good place to start in order to get background info and topic ideas.When you do a search for an encyclopedia, type in topic AND encyclopedia. Think about an area of interest related to multimodal communications. If you are interested in American Sign Language, for example, we have encyclopedias and books on American Sign Language, ASL in bilingual teaching and learning, etc. Use deaf and encyclopedias as keywords to find the Gallaudet Encyclopedia and the Sage Encyclopedia of Deaf Studies. If you are interested in social media, we have works on that topic as well.
Some encyclopedias are online, and some are available on the 3rd and 4th floors and can be checked out. Some are on the 1st floor and cannot be checked out. Use the RIT Libraries Catalog to find encyclopedias and books on your chosen topic.
Use the RIT Libraries Search Catalog below to find books.
Check out these ebook databases for more titles related to your topic.
Many books are available in the library but sometimes you will identify books we have not bought. Usehttp://ill.rit.edu Information Delivery Service (IDS) to order books or book chapters. This is a free service.
IDS requests usually take 3-5 business days. When the item arrives you will receive an email. If it is an entire book it will be available for check-out at the Circulation Desk. If it is a book chapter it will usually be delivered as a PDF into your IDS account.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
