InfoGuides: Streaming Video : Home

Last Updated: Apr 12, 2024 1:34 PM

About this guide

This Library Guide provides basic information on streaming video resources available at Rochester Institute of Technology through RIT Libraries.

RIT Libraries provides access to thousands of streaming videos through several major providers. We acquire and provide access to streaming media titles in different ways.

We purchase and provide access to complete collections of video content.
With appropriate faculty input, we evaluate and acquire specific video titles, on a semester basis, from the select vendors below.

Please check for desired titles in the subscription sources below or contact your librarian for assistance. Media requests for titles not currently included in our collections can be submitted via the Media Request form. More information can be found on our Media Requests page.

All streaming videos in RIT Libraries’ media collection are purchased or licensed content- limited to current authorized RIT students, faculty, and staff. Access to individual titles must be requested each semester.

All streamed videos licensed by RIT Libraries can be used in MyCourses syllabi, documents, and other webpages.

Streaming Media Definition

Streaming media can be defined as media, whether video or audio, that is transmitted over the internet either in real-time or recorded. Examples of streaming include (but are not limited to) YouTube videos, podcasts, music, movies, and more.

Streaming Media Providers (titles by request only)

Titles from these collections must be requested and are added on a semester-by-semester basis.

Alexander Street This link opens in a new window Alexander Street is a streaming video subscription service offering a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.

Docuseek Over 1800 documentaries with searchable and interactive transcripts. These documentaries can be curated with flexible licensing options and free 10-minute previews.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is a streaming video service including movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window Swank Digital Campus is a streaming video and movie service that includes top Hollywood studios such as: Warner Bros. MGM, Miramax, Lionsgate, SONY, HBO, and many more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.

Other Streaming Collections at RIT

RIT Libraries subscribes to all content in these resources.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window Birds of The World contains 10,721 species accounts from every bird species in the world and is an entirely new scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from four different ornithological volumes: Birds of North America (BNA), Neotropical Birds, Handbook of Birds of the World (HBW Alive), and Bird Families of the World.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.

Fortunoff Video Archive For Holocaust Testimonies The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape. Testimonies were produced in cooperation with thirty-six affiliated projects across North America, South America, Europe, and Israel. The Fortunoff Archive and its affiliates recorded the testimonies of willing individuals with first-hand experience of the Nazi persecutions, including those who were in hiding, survivors, bystanders, resistants, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred, and range in length from 30 minutes to over 40 hours (recorded over several sessions). You must create an account and ask for access even though this is a free resource.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments - trial) This link opens in a new window JoVE is the leading producer and publisher of video resources for science education and research. With over 18,000 videos published across several disciplines in science, medicine and engineering, the JoVE library provides clear, detailed illustrations of a vast range of scientific techniques and concepts. This trial includes access to all content under both the Research and Education dropdowns. The trial concludes on December 31, 2024.
JoVE Bioengineering This link opens in a new window JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a scientific video journal. JoVE Bioengineering merges both physical and life sciences to understand and predict biological processes.
JoVE Biology This link opens in a new window JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) is a scientific video journal. JoVE Biology contains over 1,700 video articles on techniques in physical biology, cellular biochemistry, genetics, physiology, systems biology and a combination of eukaryotic and prokaryotic model systems. Contains all fields of cell, molecular, and organismal biology, ranging from new applications of standard techniques to novel approaches aimed at understanding the functions of life and living organisms.
Jove Science Education - Chemistry This link opens in a new window This video collection helps provide a solid foundation in general chemistry by showcasing basic lab techniques, demonstrating commonly used equipment, and exploring the theory behind fundamental methodology in Chemistry. Contains 6 parts: general chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, biochemistry, organic chemistry II, and inorganic chemistry. RIT only subscribes to Organic Chemistry and Analytical Chemistry.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window An online learning platform with video tutorials in a number of disciplines: 3D, video, business, photography, web design, graphic design, and more. Many tutorials are captioned. As of December 14, 2021, LinkedIn Learning will no longer be accessible to learners logging in from the Chinese Mainland.
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window Pronunciator is a langauge learning web-app that provides access to courses in 164 languages (including ASL) in 144 home languages.. ESL is taught in 132 home languages. To learn more about Pronunciator including how to register for an account, please watch this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tcS3RTC-0Pk

Rhizome An online journal and archive of new media art covering a vast range of projects by artists all over the world that employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers to aesthetics and critical ends.
Stash Stash is an online repository for design, animation, and VFX projects.
Vault (access provided via Career Connect) Vault provides information on what it's like to work in an industry, company or profession. It also provides information on how to best prepare and position yourself for obtaining work in your desired field. Additional information, including internships, company data, rankings, reviews, etc., are also available.