ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Mazique): Black (All, Blue) Lives Matter

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Encyclopedias and Books on African Americans and Crime

Book cover image entitled "African Americans and Criminal Justice" Use the RIT Libraries Catalog to find encyclopedias and books about African Americans and Crime.

The first area of your research, Black (All, Blue) Lives Matter focuses on finding viewpoint sources such as opinion articles/editorials and pieces of visual rhetoric (cartoons, ads, bumper stickers, t-shirts, etc.You will find this type of information in newspapers, popular periodicals, social media, and websites. Opposing Viewpoints is a good database for viewpoint articles.  Reputable newspapers are the Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.

The second area focuses on finding informative sources regarding the larger historical, political, and cultural contexts on Race, Racism, School-to-Prison Pipeline, Socioeconomic Disparities/Inequity/Inequality. You will find this information in scholarly journals and books.

You can use the keywords (African American* OR black*) AND crim*. The asterisk * will find variations in the word: crime, criminal(s), etc.We also have encyclopedias on crime, the criminal justice system, law enforcement, etc. Use the keywords encyclopedia AND crim*. These encyclopedias often have chapters about African American prisoners. There are also books about African Americans and the criminal justice system. Use the RIT Libraries Catalog below to find these materials.

Finding Database Articles: Start Here

Check out PBS videos.

Other Databases

What does MORE do for me?

Tag of the word more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon