InfoGuides: UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Mazique): 2020 Election Campaign

Last Updated: Mar 15, 2021 12:32 PM

Finding Encyclopedias & Books

Check out encyclopedias to get background information about your elections and parties.Use the RIT Libraries Catalog to find encyclopedias and books related to political parties, the election, and related concepts.

The first area focuses on finding viewpoint sources such as opinion articles/editorials and pieces of visual rhetoric (cartoons, ads, bumper stickers, t-shirts, etc.) 2020 Political Campaign Rhetoric on Biden and Trump. You will find this type of information in newspapers, Opposing Viewpoints, and social media.

The second area focuses on finding informative sources regarding the larger historical, political, and cultural contexts on the topics Socialism, Sexism, and/or Xenophobia. You can use Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, and scholarly journals or books to get this type of information.

Search the Library Catalog

After searching the RIT Libraries Catalog, if you cannot find what you need from our collection, start a new search, look at the right side column and click on Connect NY. You can borrow books for free from university libraries in NY state

More: Databases

Project MUSE
Indexing of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

National Journal Race Tracker 2016

National Journal: Race Tracker 2020

An online publication focused on politics and policy in Washington, National Journal provides a "Race Tracker" with detailed, up-to-date Presidential polling information from sources across the country.

Popular Databases

CQ Weekly
Provides nonpartisan news and analysis of key issues before Congress. Also includes in-depth reports on upcoming issues, status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes. Browse articles by date or topic or search for articles by keyword, topic, bill number, date, committees, and more.
CQ Researcher Online
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
EBSCO
When you get in, look above the search bar and check off appropriate databases such as Academic Search Elite, Communication and Mass Media, MAS Ultra, Military & Government, eBook collection, Newspaper Source, and others as appropriate.
Opposing Viewpoints
Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues.
SIRS KnowledgeSource
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) is an online interface that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases.
Research Library
When you get in the database, look at the database link above the search bar and check off databases as appropriate for your topic: Research Library, eBook Central, Social Sciences, Newspapers, NY Times, Political Science, and other databases as appropriate.

Check out the PBS videos.

What does MORE do for me?

Tag of text more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!