InfoGuides: COMM 201 Public Speaking: Home

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2024 12:48 PM

Notice to Faculty and Students

Notice to Students and Faculty
Course guides are routinely unpublished or marked as private. This is to ensure search results only include InfoGuides for active class sections. To request that this guide be republished to the InfoGuides homepage, please complete this form.

Finding a Topic

RIT's Library subscribes to two several resources that focus on controversial issues including Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, and ProCon (via Credo Reference).

Browsing the topics listed in these sources can be an effective way to identify "hot topics" of interest. The articles in these databases are not considered scholarly sources. They are intended as starting points for your research - not the final sources for your presentations and projects.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues. The NOVELNY program and its online resources (currently from Gale and Britannica) will cease on June 30, 2024.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.

ProCon
Another resources that outlines the pros and cons of current issues. Use the search box to find entries on relevant topics.

Supporting Research

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) is a multidisciplinary database that includes journals on a wide-range of topics from science to engineering to history to literature.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Complete is a multidisciplinary database that contains a variety of humanities- and social science-based resources including access to key journals for many fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Like Academic Search Elite and ProQuest Complete, JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that includes journals relevant to a variety of fields. JSTOR is particularly useful for articles published prior to 2012.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This is a great database to consult for topics related to the sciences, social sciences, engineering, and other STEM disciplines.

Data and Statistics

Pew Research Center
A non-partisan data organization that uses "public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis" to construct reports on current issues of today.
Gallup Poll News Service
A political polling/data site, Gallup is another great source for data on current events. In addition to searching the content available via this link, you can search for content on Gallup's site directly.