English (ENGL): Ebooks

This guide will provide an overview of resources available from the RIT Library
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43308

Ebook Resources

RIT has a large collection of more than 500,000 ebooks that are available to you for your research.  The boxes below provide information on how to search Summon to locate ebooks.  Summon is the RIT Library's discovery tool for searching our resources.

The Summon search box is the orange search box located on the RIT Libraries' homepage.  Summon allows you to search almost all of the library's content from a single search box!  In some ways, it is similar to a Google search of the library website.  Just as with a Google search, a Summon search will typically deliver many, many results.  The key to success is to utilize the filters located in the margin to the left of your Summon search results.

View the tutorial to learn more about the features and tips for best using Summon.

Try Summon here or use the search box in the column below!

You can also search the Library catalog.  This is a good tool when you know you only want book results.  Book results are included in a Summon search.

Locating E-Books in Summon

The RIT Library has a continually growing collection of e-books in a diverse range of subject areas. You can easily locate e-books using the refinement filters within Summon.  Conduct your Summon search, refine your search to "items with full text online" and limit the content type to "Books/ebook".  Your list of results will now be only e-books.  

E-books can be used as assigned or supplemental reading in your courses.  E-book licenses do, however, vary.  Please consult your librarian to confirm whether the title you have selected provides unlimited simultaneous access or if there are limits to the number of simultaneous users.

What does MORE do for me?

Image Title

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!

Can't Find the Full Text? - We'll Get it for You!

Many articles are available as full text in the library databases but sometimes the complete article is not available from the publisher within the database. In these situations, request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

To request an article via interlibrary loan:

  1. Place an article request from http://ill.rit.edu. ILL requests usually take 3-5 business days and will be delivered electronically into your account.  This service is free.  On occasion, materials are not available from other libraries and we will notify you if we are unable to fulfill the order.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon