Locating Secondary Sources - HIST 103: The City in History - Paris - InfoGuides at Rochester Institute of Technology

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2024 11:47 AM

Secondary Sources

The library provides access to a number of subscription resources that include scholarly articles relevant to history research. Below you will find both recommended databases and journals.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); Delivered via the Web of Science platform. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This humanities-based research database includes full-text articles on history topics, as well as related subject areas such as anthropology, art history, cultural studies, and museum studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Similar to Arts & Humanities Full Text, JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database that includes journals relevant to history and related fields.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Complete is also a multidisciplinary database that contains a variety of humanities- and social science-based resources including access to several key journals in the field.
Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to Salem Press content spanning a variety of disciplines including history, literature, environmental science, criminal justice, and hospitality and tourism.

Scholarly Articles

Below is a list of a few core journals providing scholarly articles on the historic Paris subject area.

French Cultural Studies:
02/01/1990 to 10/31/1998 in SAGE Deep Backfile 2009

02/01/1999 to Present in SAGE Premier 2020
French Historical Studies:
01/01/1958 to 10/31/1999 in JSTOR Arts & Sciences II

03/01/1985 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Elite

1999 to 2004 in Project MUSE - Premium Collection
French History and Civilization (George Rudé Seminar in French History and Civilisation)
French Politics, Culture and Society:
03/01/2001 to 1 year ago in

Gale Literature Resource Center

04/01/2008 to 1 year ago in

Arts & Humanities Database

ProQuest Central Essentials

ProQuest Research Library

Social Science Database

Social Science Premium Collection

Sociology Database
Journal of Modern History
Journal of Social History

HIST 103: The City in History - Paris: Locating Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources

Recommended Databases

Scholarly Articles