ⓘ Library Under Construction

The library’s circulating books, journals, and many of its services are now located in the Ritter Ice Arena. More information.

Undocumented Migration Project/Hostile Terrain 94 Exhibition* : Research Resources

Hostile Terrain 94 (HT94) is a participatory project organized by the Undocumented Migration Project (UMP), a non-profit research-art-education-media collective, directed by MacArthur Fellow and UCLA anthropologist Jason De León.
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=242622
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2021 12:04 PM

Subscription Databases

The RIT Library subscribes to a large variety of research databases. Databases give you access to content that is not openly published on the web and provide resources such as full text  articles form professional, scholarly/peer reviewed, and trade publications, newspapers, eBooks, images, and video.

The databases listed below are comprised of resources geared specifically for research within the Humanities and Social Sciences:

Indexes full-text backfiles of academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. RIT's subscription includes collections: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III, Arts & Sciences V, Arts & Sciences VI, Arts & Sciences VII, Arts & Sciences VIII, Arts& Sciences IX, and Mathematics & Statistics. Access all unlicensed collections until June 30, 2022.

Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. This database is funded by the College of Liberal Arts.

ProQuest Sociology gives users access to the full-text of more than 255 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains over 375,000 records from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.

Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - journal articles, books, government documents, statistics, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, microfiche, Internet material, etc.

Contains easy to retrieve United States population, housing, business and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

 

The databases listed below are excellent multi-disciplinary sources of information:

Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.

This scholarly collection provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.

All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.

In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400 individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable.

Photo archive containing the Associated Press' photos, most since 1995, and a selection of pictures from their image library.

 

Newspaper Databases

Full-text coverage (from 1851 to the present) of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

Selected full text for regional, US and international newspapers. Full text of major television & radio news transcripts are provided.

Full text of regional, national, and international newspapers.

​​​​​​​US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as some archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. The Rochester Democrat & Chronicle is covered back to November 2002.​​​​​​​

​​​​​​​

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon