UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Calfo-Kalfopoulou): Topic Ideas

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43366
Last Updated: Sep 8, 2021 4:38 AM

Getting Started

Choosing a topic can be challenging.  There are different tools and techniques you can use to help yourself get started. 

Brainstorming is a great way to generate ideas. Here's some questions to ask yourself to help get you started:

  • What interests you?
  • What do you hope to study and learn about while at RIT?
  • What's going on in the world that concerns you?
  • What issue or circumstance has touched your life that you want to learn more about?
  • Who do you find fascinating?

undefined

Accessing RIT's "Database Finder"

If you would like to search within a specific database, all of RIT's databases can be accessed either from the "Database" tab in Summon, or by choosing "Databases" from  the drop down menu under "Search Collections." You'll be able to find databases via A-Z , grouped by subject area, or  by type. 

undefined

Database Finder, Looks like this:

undefined

Subject Based Journals

Browsing articles published in professional journals that explore a certain field can help you identify important issues being discussed in that discipline.

undefined

Articles about Controversial Issues

RIT's Library subscribes to two different databases that focus on controversial issues: Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher.  Browsing the topics listed in either database can be an effective way to identify "hot topics" of interest.  The information in these databases include scholarly/peer reviewed articles as well as other types like magazines, viewpoint articles, newspapers, etc., that are not considered scholarly.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon