UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Razem): Databases

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43366

How to find RIT's Databases

Different types of Databases

Some databases are "multidisciplinary," meaning they gather information about lots of topics (or "disciplines") within one searchable interface. Some databases offer this single search interface but to published content that speaks to a certain subject, or field of study. RIT subscribes to many of these. (See the "Research Databases within this guide for suggestions.)

Accessing RIT's "Database Finder"

If you would like to search within a specific database, all of RIT's databases can be accessed either from the "Database" tab in Summon, or by choosing "Databases" from  the drop down menu under "Search Collections," both from the library's homepage.  You'll be able to find databases via A-Z , grouped by subject area, or by type. 

Database access via the drop down menu looks like this:

 

"Database Finder" looks like this:

undefined

Finding Database Articles: Start Here

Check out PBS videos.

Articles about Controversial Issues

RIT's Library subscribes to two different databases that focus on controversial issues: Opposing Viewpoints and CQ Researcher.  Browsing the topics listed in either database can be an effective way to identify "hot topics" of interest.  The information in these databases include scholarly/peer reviewed articles as well as other types like magazines, viewpoint articles, newspapers, etc., that are not considered scholarly.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon