InfoGuides: UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Officer): Articles

Last Updated: Mar 17, 2023 2:28 PM

Finding Articles

The library has many databases that have scholarly, newspaper, and magazine articles.

Tip: You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Start With These Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Has lexile levels.Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues.
MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window
Has lexile levels.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of regional, national, and international newspapers.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, US and international newspapers. Full text of major television & radio news transcripts are provided.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. Basic Search Demo and Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.
SIRS Issues Researcher (formerly SIRS Knowledge Source) This link opens in a new window
Has lexile levels. Provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases.

What does MORE do for me?

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!