InfoGuides: COMM 342 Communication Law & Ethics: Legal Resources

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2024 2:00 PM

Contact and Guide Address Info

This Guide's Direct Link: http://infoguides.rit.edu/comm342

Questions:

Jennifer Freer: jennifer.freer@rit.edu

rit.libcal.com/appointments/business

Law Databases via the RIT Libraries

Cases and law reviews are available through the three databases listed below. Nexis and Westlaw both have U.S, Supreme Court and Federal District cases.

These are subscription databases offered by RIT Libraries. Current students, staff, and faculty have access

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Offers access to cases and law reviews in addition to news.

Nexis - Searchable Fields for a Case
The attached PDF is from teh Nexis system and shows you searchable fields from a case.

WestlawNext Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access is currently unavailable. Access is available on campus. See your librarian for more details.
Includes decisions & case law from state & federal courts, state & federal laws, statutes & regulations, & articles from law reviews and journals.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all U.S. treaties, all of the world's constitutions, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase.

HeinOnline Info About their Supreme Court Library
LibGuide with helpful information about content and using HeinOnline for Supreme Court research.

Law Reviews

Law Reviews are available in both Nexis, Westlaw and HeinOnline in addition to various library article databases.

You can also search for law reviews by publication title with our A-Z Journal list to see if we have access to the full text.

A-Z Journal List
Search for specific journal, magazine and newspaper title to see if we have immediate full-text access.

Below if a list of highly cited law review journals as ranked by Google Scholar followed by direct links to the the library access for the first 10.

Search the A-Z Journal list for law reviews not linked above. If a publication is listed in the A-Z Journal list we will have full or partial access. Scope of access will vary.

A-Z Journal List
Search for specific journal, magazine and newspaper title to see if we have immediate full-text access.
Law Review Search in Nexis Uni
Will take you directly to section in Nexus Uni for Law Review searching.

Course Resources

Oyez
A multimedia site about the U.S. Supreme Court that offers links to the Court's history, pending cases, and audio of oral arguments before the Court and more.
SCOTUS Blog
Blog covering the U.S. Supreme Court.
The Guide to Law Online
The home page of the Law Library of Congress which offers links and resources on federal, international, and multinational law.
First Amendment Center
iSCOTUS Now
Blog from Institute on the Supreme Court of the United States. Last entry 6/12/2020

Supreme Court Podcasts

PODCASTS

Amicus Podcast
A legal podcast with Slate’s Dahlia Lithwick.
Bloomberg Law Podcast
"Host June Grasso speaks with prominent attorneys and legal scholars, analyzing major legal issues and cases in the news."
More Perfect odcast
"We bring the highest court of the land down to earth, telling the human dramas at the Court that shape so many aspects of American life." Produced by WYNC.
Oyez Podcast
"Oral arguments before the Supreme Court of the United States, presented by Oyez, a multimedia judicial archive at the Illinois Tech Chicago-Kent College of Law."
SCOTUSTalk
"A biweekly podcast hosted by Amy Howe, SCOTUStalk takes a “plain English” look at events and topics relating to the Supreme Court."
Justia
"We also offer opinion summaries, briefs, oral argument audio, and resources that provide a panoramic view of each case in its context."
Cornell Legal Information Institute
"Founded in 1992, we are a small team of technologists who believe that everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them." Oyez is their more current project with Justia.

COMM 342 Communication Law & Ethics: Legal Resources

Contact and Guide Address Info

Law Databases via the RIT Libraries

Law Reviews

Course Resources

Supreme Court Podcasts

Oyez Oyez Oyez