InfoGuides: UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Kavin): Database Articles

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2024 3:15 PM

Finding Articles

RIT Libraries subscribes to more than 200 databases. These research databases are tremendous resources for locating articles from scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, newspapers (national and international publications), and magazines. Some databases contain image collections, ebooks, captioned streamed videos, statistics, patents, conference proceedings, and dissertations/theses. Search the Database Finder portal to explore further!

Rhetorical Strategies: For your search, you can combine any of the strategy words, like ethos, pathos, logos, audience, voice, and tone, with your keywords. Keep keywords to two or three, like ("sign language" OR ASL) AND rhetoric.

Use Summon to search all of our databases. Please do not stop with Summon; it may miss some important articles. Continue to search using the other databases listed below.

Summon This link opens in a new window
Summon is a discovery tool which searches across most of RIT's article databases.

Databases for politics and media articles

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles on communication, mass media, journalism, and rhetoric. (Communication Institute for Online Scholarship).
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles.

Current Events

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) is an online interface that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases.