InfoGuides: Film Studies: Databases

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2025 10:54 AM

Databases - Find Articles

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. The International Index to Film Periodicals contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals. Each entry consists of a full bibliographic description, an abstract and comprehensive headings (biographical names, film titles and general subjects). Also included is The Treasures from the Film Archives dataset; a database containing credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Tool for film and television research covering film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO)
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Art Index Retrospective
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, includes content for than 55 years of art journalism, from more than 600 publications. Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, editorials, reproduction of works of art, notices of competitions and awards and letters to the editor are indexed.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.
JSTOR
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Published by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI); Delivered via the Web of Science platform. The Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.

Books and Ebooks

Cinema Studies by Susan Hayward
ISBN: 9781000641899
Publication Date: 2022-09-30
Now in its sixth edition, this essential guide for students provides accessible definitions of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, world cinemas, theories and production terms. This fully revised and updated book includes new topical entries that explore areas such as film and the environmental crisis; streaming and new audience consumption; diversity and intersectionality; questions related to race and representation; the Black Lives Matter movement; and New Wave Cinemas of Eastern European countries. Further new entries include accented/exilic cinema, border-cinema, the oppositional gaze, sonic sound and Black westerns. Existing entries have been updated, including discussion of #MeToo, and more contemporary film examples have been added throughout. This is a must-have guide for any student starting out on this fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Selected book titles in varied disciplines. Formerly known as ebrary. Full downloads are not available. Read online or use the Chapter Download feature. Visit the QuickStart Guide for basic help or the Ebook Central overview guide for advanced information.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Selected book titles in all disciplines. Full text.