The library does not proactively add course textbooks to our collection. But if textbooks are not available through LMS or available as an eBook in our collection professors are encouraged to place orders for one copy of the textbook and have it placed on print reserves. Please keep in mind this is a shared copy.
If you are using a non-textbook book as a course reading we may have it in one of our e-book databases. Most but not all e-books are cataloged in our catalog. For example, the O'Reilly for Higher Education e-book database contains many multi-user ebooks across many subjects. Feel free to email me the book(s) name(s) and I can confirm if we do or do not have a book.
Search our collection to see if we have any print or e-books.
Textbooks are available in the following formats:
LMS
eBook in RIT Libraries
Print books in RIT Dubai Library
Individual purchase – Students may be required to buy print textbooks on their own or through vendors listed on our website.
If the textbooks listed in your syllabus are not available through any of the formats mentioned above, please place your order using this link.
The RIT Library has a print reserve process available. If you would like a print book placed on reserve please let me know.
If you have an electronic item you would like to share with students in your class, you can link to it directly in your myCourses shell or you can let me know so that I can add it to the respective InfoGuide. If it is a library item make sure to use a Persistent Link which will work off-campus. Using a Persistent Link from a library database will guarantee you are linking to an authorized copy of an item and the library can get usage stats to help argue for continued access. I can help with this process as it varies from database to database.
Link to library items. Do not download library PDFs and upload to myCourses. This would be an unauthorized use of library resources.
I am available for consultations in-person or via Zoom.
To set up an appointment use this link: Book an Appointment with Chippy Prem
To Chat with me during the day or with Ryan Tolnay (Global Education Librarian) after-hours: Chat with RIT Dubai Librarian.
My Room is F 107.
I am available to visit your class in-person or via zoom to conduct a library instruction session. Students get a formal introduction to library databases, search strategy and information literacy basics when I am invited into classes. I shape class visits around the specific class assignment needs. Just email me to talk about your project.
As of now, mandatory library information sessions are offered for the following courses:
RIT 365 – A basic introduction to the library website and textbook access.
UWRT 150 – Covers search strategies, information resources and services, as well as citation management tools.
Biology – Provides course-specific library resources and support.
Graduate Thesis Courses – Offers comprehensive guidance on all library resources relevant to thesis research, writing and submission.
I'm happy to be invited to any other class as well—please feel free to reach out if you'd like to incorporate a library session into your course.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
