InfoGuides: Computing and Information Sciences: GCCIS: Research Sources

Last Updated: Mar 11, 2024 11:35 AM

Start your search by browsing Summon

Summon is a great discovery tool for those who have not yet narrowed down their topic or key words. It will show the user all materials that are available to them through RIT.

Browse Databases

Computer Science and Information Technology Databases from Database Finder
Use our Database Finder to browse a list of computer science and information technology research databases. For advanced research purposes, searching in specific databases can be more precise than searching Summon. You can also filter the list of databases by content type or access provider.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Ebook packages include over 1200 IEEE/Wiley Press titles and over 950 MIT Press titles in computer science and engineering technologies.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from technical journals, trade magazines, and conference proceedings in computer science and related disciplines from the Association for Computing Machinery. Subscription now includes ACM EBOOKS which is a new series of high quality books for the computer science community, published by ACM in collaboration with Morgan & Claypool Publishers.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. ScienceDirect Help

Code Ocean and Other Helpful Sources

Code Ocean is a cloud-based computational reproducibility platform. Use Code Ocean to preserve your code, data, and computational environment in a capsule. Code Ocean can assign DOIs to your capsules to facilitate consistent sharing. You can also use Code Ocean to let others easily run your code in the cloud or generate a widget to run your code on a website. Code Ocean offers a limited free version, which is presently the only version available to the RIT community.

Code Ocean also integrates with some publishing platforms, such as IEEE Xplore.

Computer Desktop Encyclopedia
Use the Computer Desktop Encyclopedia as a reference source for definitions of computing terms. This source has been consistently updated since it was first published as a book in 1981. The encyclopedia is free to use on the web; a mobile app version can be purchased.
Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
Browse and search for open access pre-prints and articles from arXiv.org on many computer science topics

Interlibrary Loan

If you are unable to find what you are looking for in our collection, materials can be requested through IDS.