The library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few Deaf and Interpreting core journals that publish the most articles related to this topic. Most of the time your professor will ask you to find empirical studies. An empirical study is one that includes scientific methodology based on experimentation, systematic observation, or measurement, rather than theoretical formulation. Check the article to see what type of publication it is. For example, you do not want reviews, books, or literature reviews.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International
Journal of ASL and ASL Literature
Sign Language Studies
Deaf Studies Digital Journal
Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education
Some of your assignments may require you to find articles in disability journals. Some of these journals are available online.
You can search within the journal to retrieve articles or use the databases below. Use the A-Z Journal List to find journal print and online holdings.
Tip: Check the bibliography or references at the end of articles to find more works.You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.
Many articles are available as full text in the library databases but sometimes the publishers hold back the full article. You can order articles that we do not have in our collection. This is a free service. Take these steps to obtain an article that is not available electronically: