ⓘ Library Under Construction

The library’s circulating books, journals, and many of its services are now located in the Ritter Ice Arena. More information.

RIT/NTID Deaf Studies Archive Collections: Donating Collections

This guide points out Deaf Studies Archive collections for your review.
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304
Last Updated: Oct 7, 2021 10:42 AM

Donating Collections

If you are interested in donating a collection, here are some guidelines to help communications go smoothly. First, contact  Liz Call and Joan Naturale about your donation to see if there is interest in the collection. If you would like to donate materials, please fill out this donation form, and we will get back to you. Do not drop off materials at this time especially since we are in the midst of moving and there are building renovations.

We are always interested in photographs, and ask that you label the people in the photo, the event, the year and other pertinent details. Otherwise, we cannot accept unlabeled photographs. 

Please make a list of what you have in the collection, and discard personal items (bills and unrelated documents). Please provide a description and background of the materials. Describe your relationship to the collection (eg, are you the author/creator?). Are there copyrighted materials? If you are not the author, do you have permission from the author to include the item in the collection?  Are there internal documents or memos sent to specific people? Are  there confidential materials? Are there any restrictions? Can materials be published/presented by a researcher? Can materials be posted onto a public website? Should folks contact the donor as a source for interviews?  Provide as much detail as possible.

The list and description will help us determine whether the donation fits the Deaf Studies Archive policy and whether we will accept it or not. After we get this information, we will email you to let you know what our decision is. If we accept the collection, make an appointment with Archives.

The RIT Archives is in the library building (5) and is open Monday-Friday from 9 am-12 pm and 1 pm-4:30 pm. It is best to make appointments with the archivists. You can email the archivists Liz Call and/or Jody Sidlauskas or use the contact page which also has their phone numbers.

If the donation is accepted, make sure the contents of the boxes are clean (no dirt, bugs, mold) and check the contents with your list to make sure everything is included. Please note that if there are duplicates to other Archives materials, we will not keep them. Do you want the materials back or can Archives throw them out?

Fill out the Accession Intake Form and Deed of Gift Form (see attached forms below) and drop off the box with the forms and lists  at RIT Wallace Center Library (Building 5).

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon