InfoGuides: UWRT150 Writing Seminar, RIT Dubai: Locating Articles

Last Updated: Oct 15, 2024 3:42 PM

Articles, Articles, Articles!

RIT Libraries subscribes to more than 260 databases. The research databases are tremendous resources for locating articles from scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, newspapers (both national and international publications), and magazines. Some databases also contain image collections, ebooks, streamed video, statistics, patents, conference proceedings and dissertations/theses. Search the Database Finder portal to explore further!

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Six of the individual, award-winning Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.
Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies biographical information and literary criticism published in Gale series, by Scribner's, St. James Press and Twayne.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center is a comprehensive literature database featuring biographical entries and author portraits, critical essays, reviews, overviews of frequently studied works, and thousands of full-text poems, short stories, and plays.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books, & dissertations on literature, language, linguistics, film & folklore.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window
Mass Observation Online, which is focused on everyday life in Britain, provides access to original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organization (1937 to early 1950s), as well as printed publications, photographs and interactive features.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full text of Oxford English Dictionary.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Articles in social science, science and technology disciplines. RIT's subscription includes these databases: Web of Science (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Medline, and ISI Proceedings.

Find journals with full-text

Can't find the full text?

IDS Express
Discover a book, article or other item the library does not own? We may be able to get a copy via IDS Express (sometimes called inter-library loan).