InfoGuides: MTSC231 Contemporary Science: Biology, RIT Kosovo: Article Databases and Journals

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2024 4:39 PM

Biology Article Databases and Journals

Below are recommended databases in the subject area of biology.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free access to peer-reviewed biological/medical research articles
BioOne This link opens in a new window
Articles in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.
Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Birds of The World contains 10,721 species accounts from every bird species in the world and is an entirely new scientific publication that merges and enhances content, data, multimedia, figures, and illustrations from four different ornithological volumes: Birds of North America (BNA), Neotropical Birds, Handbook of Birds of the World (HBW Alive), and Bird Families of the World.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

JSTOR Global Plants
Global Plants is the world’s largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text of several Nature research and review journals.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Scientific American Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.
Toxnet

Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Articles in social science, science and technology disciplines. RIT's subscription includes these databases: Web of Science (1975-present); Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Medline, and ISI Proceedings.

Locating E-Books in Summon

The RIT Library has a continually growing collection of e-books in a diverse range of subject areas. You can easily locate e-books using the refinement filters within Summon. Conduct your Summon search, refine your search to "items with full text online" and limit the content type to "Books/ebook". Your list of results will now be only e-books.

What to Do When the Full Text is Not Available

If the complete text of an article is not available from the database, you can request that the Library get it for you. Clicking the "Request" button will either link you to the full text of the article in another database or lead you to the "submit" button where you can request the article. The direct link for requesting materials from the Library's Information Delivery Service (IDS) is: https:ill.rit.edu/. The service is free and typically takes 3-5 business days. Requested documents will be delivered electronically to your account.

Credo Reference- Science search box

This box will search all of your Credo Reference Science titles.