ⓘ Library Under Construction

Wallace Library is closed as of May 17, 2021 for renovations. Circulating books and some public services are being relocated to Ritter Ice Arena for the duration of construction. More information.

UWRT100 Critical Reading & Writing: Reference Works & Books

This guide points to library resources and databases for topic research in this class
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43304

Finding Encyclopedias & Books

Image of an encyclopedia book cover.Encyclopedias are a good place to start in order to get background info and topic ideas.When you do a search for an encyclopedia, type in topic AND encyclopedia.

Example: Standardized Test Scores might be a topic you are interested in exploring.Type the keywords using the RIT Libraries Catalog, standards AND education AND encyclopedia. I found this encyclopedia, Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia which you can check out for 6 weeks. Note the subject headings in the record. This will help you find more books and find more keywords to use such as the "common core" when you click on a subject heading Education -- Standards -- United States. 

Some encyclopedias are available and can be checked out. Others cannot be checked out.
Use the RIT Libraries Catalog to find encyclopedias and books on your chosen topic. The Ideas in Conflict series, Current Controversies, Greenwood Press, and ABC-CLIO books are publishers and good sources if browsing for topics.

Use the RIT Libraries Search Catalog below to find books.

eBooks

Check out these ebook databases for more titles related to your topic.

Choosing Topics via LIV@RIT

Interlibrary Loan: Books

Many books are available in the library but sometimes you will identify books we have not bought.  Use Information Delivery Service (IDS) to order books or book chapters. This is a free service.

IDS requests usually take 3-5 business days.  When the item arrives you will receive an email.  If it is an entire book it will be available for check-out at the Circulation Desk.  If it is a book chapter it will usually be delivered as a PDF into your IDS account.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon