Introductory Chemistry by
See how chemistry is relevant to your life. Now in its fifth edition, Introductory Chemistry continues to foster deep engagement in the course by showing how chemistry manifests in your daily life. Author Nivaldo Tro draws upon his classroom experience as an award-winning instructor to extend chemistry from the laboratory to your world, with relevant applications and a captivating writing style. Closely integrated with the fifth edition of Introductory Chemistry, MasteringChemistry#65533; gives you the tools you need to succeed in this course. This program provides you a better learning experience. It will help you to: * Personalize learning with MasteringChemistry#65533;: This data-validated online homework, tutorial, and assessment program helps you quickly master concepts, and enables instructors to provide timely intervention when necessary. * Achieve deep conceptual understanding: Several new Conceptual Checkpoints and Self- Assessment Quizzes help you better grasp key concepts. * Develop problem-solving skills: A step-by-step framework encourages you to think logically rather than simply memorize formulas. Additional worked examples, enhanced with audio and video, reinforce challenging problems. * Maintain interest in chemistry: The inclusion of concrete examples of key ideas throughout the program keeps you engaged in the material. Note: If you are purchasing the standalone text or electronic version, MasteringChemistry does not come automatically packaged with the text. To purchase MasteringChemistry please visit: www.masteringchemistry.com or you can purchase a package of the physical text + MasteringChemistry by searching for 9780321910073 / 0321910079. MasteringChemistry is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Prentice Hall Chemistry meets the needs of students with a range of abilities, diversities, and learning styles by providing real-world connections to chemical concepts and processes. The first nine chapters introduce students to the conceptual nature of chemistry before they encounter the nore rigorous mathematical models and concepts in later chapters. The technology backbone of the program is the widely praised Interactive Textbook with ChemASAP, which provides frequent opportunities to practice and reinforce key concepts with Animations, Simulaitons, Assessment, and Problem-solving tutorials.
Publication Date: 2004-01-15
All materials from this collection are usually to be used in the library during the same day; however, we do allow for Reference materials to be loaned for longer on a case by case basis. Come and see us if you need an encyclopedia, handbook, or dictionary for more than a day.
Encyclopedia of Chemistry by
With a structure that reflects the way chemistry is currently studied, the comprehensive Encyclopedia of Chemistry is the definitive reference to this vast subject area. Hundreds of chemistry-related entries, thought-provoking essays, leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history provide high school through early college students with the most complete information available. Addressing a subject whose understanding is crucial to all mature science students, Encyclopedia of Chemistry presents an engaging, interactive approach to learning. Additional material directs students to further pursue their studies on the Internet, including links to informative websites and summaries of chemistry-related resources. A special section listing all Nobel Prize winners in chemistry, a bibliography, and a references cited section complete this informative encyclopedia. Students and professionals alike will benefit from the extensive coverage and easy-to-use format of this resource. Entries include atomic mass unit (amu), binary fission, Boyle's law, cheletropic reaction, enzyme induction, Daniel Gabriel Fahrenheit, g-factor, Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle, Krebs' cycle, nuclear binding energy, photosynthesis, polymerase chain reaction, radiocarbon dating, suicide inhibition, and thermonuclear energy.
Publication Date: 2005-03-31
The Facts on File Chemistry Handbook by
Containing over 1,400 glossary entries, this title offers students a view of a vital branch of science. It contains sections that include: 125 advances in the biological sciences; a list of Nobel Prize winners in physiology or medicine, as well as their biographical information; a guide to 50 award-winning Web sites for reference; and more.
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Dictionary of Chemistry by
Completely updated and revised, the fourth edition of The Facts On File Dictionary of Chemistry examines this popular science subject in clear, easy-to-follow prose. Approximately 280 new entries have been added to reflect new information, and current entries and back matter have been revised needed. Pronuciation symbols are now included, and many photographs have been replaced. Ideal for high school and college courses, this dictionary is an invaluable reference source for anyone with an interest in chemistry.
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Dictionary of Biochemistry by
Biochemistry is a dynamic and ever-expanding field of research with relevance to many other biosciences and to medicine. This dictionary offers concise explanations of over 2000 key terms in the field. It includes a network of cross-references and over 60 illustrations. It should be particularly relevant to AP Science students, and it contains a number of useful lists, tables, and a bibliography.
Publication Date: 2002-11-30