InfoGuides: NENG 241 Written Communication: Articles

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2024 4:01 PM

Finding Topic Ideas

Browse through these database sites to get topic ideas. SIRS has hundreds of possible topics. Opposing Viewpoints also has a list of topics. Explore the topics in CQ Researcher as well. These databases will have information about social media, online social networks, and Twitter. Use Academic Search Elite and Proquest Research Library for Deaf as well as social media and other classification topics.

Start With These Databases

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Full text viewpoint essays and articles on current social and political issues.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) is an online interface that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases.
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
Research Library searches a diverse and respected mix of scientific journals, trade journals, and general journals covering more than 150 academic disciplines.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of regional, national, and international newspapers.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, US and international newspapers. Full text of major television & radio news transcripts are provided.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles. SAGE Help

Interlibrary Loan Services

Many articles are available as full text in the library databases but sometimes the publishers hold back the full article. You can order articles that we do not have in our collection. This is a free service.Take these steps to obtain an article that is not available electronically:

Check to see if we subscribe to the print edition.
If we do not have the print article, order it from IDS . ILL requests usually take 3-5 business days and will be delivered electronically into your account.