ENGL210: Literature, Culture and Media, RIT Croatia: Finding Short Stories in the Databases

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=43308

Finding Short Stories in Magazines

Many popular magazines contain short stories.  The RIT Library subscribes to academic and scholarly periodicals and also subscribes to popular magazines.  If you use the Search Journals@RIT link, you can search for publications by title and then link directly to the database that contains the publication.  From there, you can browse by issue or search across the entire publication.  If you click on the "advanced" search, you will see the publication title is already filled in for the publication field.  You can then enter "short story" in the second search box and change the field via the dropdown menu to "subject heading".  This will give you a listing of short stories within the publication.  You will also notice a list of suggested subjects at the top of the screen.  These will  include short stories and specific time periods or types of literature and/or authors. Note: When searching for magazine titles such as The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, Harper's, etc., you will notice that the Library often has access via several different databases.  It is often most "user friendly" to use either the Ebsco or ProQuest databases for the above subject searches to access the lists of short stories. 

If the short story is not available in full-text from the database, remember the RIT Library can get it for you via IDS (Information Document Service).

Can't Find the Full Text? -We'll Get it for You!

Many articles are available as full text in the library databases but sometimes the complete article is not available from the publisher within the database. In these situations, request the article via Interlibrary Loan.

To request an article via interlibrary loan:

  1. Place an article request from http://ill.rit.edu. ILL requests usually take 3-5 business days and will be delivered electronically into your account.  This service is free.  On occasion, materials are not available from other libraries and we will notify you if we are unable to fulfill the order.

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon