Vol. 1. (68:00) Cinderella (classic) -- Cinderella (deaf version) -- The wonderful tar baby story -- The tortoise and the hare -- The frog prince -- Little red riding hood. Vol. 2. (68:00) The golden goose (classic) -- The golden goose (deaf version) -- The three little pigs -- Rapunzel -- Rumpelstiltskin -- The ugly duckling. Vol. 3. (62:00) The Bremen town musicians (classic) -- The Bremen town musicians (deaf version) -- The three bears -- Hansel and Gretel -- Jack and the beanstalk -- The three billy goats gruff
Featuring the sign language talent of: Freda Norman, Mary Beth Miller, Lou Fant, Pat Graybill, Bill Ennis
Five fairy tales are included on each tape with one of the fairy tales told twice. The first is the classic story, while the second is the way the story would have been told if deaf people had created the story. Each fairy tale is told in American Sign Language (ASL) by a master story teller. Voice-over and musical score make the tape accessible to both hearing and deaf children.
Ipek Mehlum (Jack), Antoinette Abbamonte (Jack's Mother), Ariel Dannis (Jack's Brother), Beryl Dannis (Jack's Sister), Ben Bahan (Giant), Marsha Vae Goeken (Mrs. Giant), CJ Jones (Recycle Man)
Taking place in Los Angeles, Jack and his family are struggling to make ends meet. After Jack returns from a chance encounter, it seems his family will continue to struggle. But overnight, a dramatic change happens in their front yard. How will this change impact the family? And how will it impact Los Angeles? Signed in American Sign Language with voice-over in English. Includes optional English subtitles and closed-captions.
CJ Jones, Ed Chevy, Meral Aydin, Antoinette Abbamonte, Amber Zion. An original American Sign Language adaptation that incorporates facial expressions, body movements, and signed language to retell the story of the Little Red Riding Hood. Set in New York City, this updated version takes you through Central Park to meet Little Wolf, Little Red, Grandma and the Park Ranger. Signed in American Sign Language with voice-over in English. Includes English subtitles and Fun Signs, a recap of key signs from the stories.
An original American Sign Language adaptation that incorporates facial expressions, body movements, and signed language to retell the story of Stone soup. Signed in American Sign Language with voice-over in English. Includes optional English subtitles and closed-captions.
Ben Bahan (Bill Wolff), Jed Dannis (Tom Piggy), David Bahan (Larry Piggy), Juliana Bahan (Sunny Piggy), CJ Jones (Sign World TV Reporter)
Tom, Larry and Sunny have all purchased their own land and will be building their own house. All have different ideas on how to build the best house. But which house will be able to stand up to the Wolf? And what valuable lessons will the Piggy family learn in the end? Signed in American Sign Language with voice-over in English. Includes optional English subtitles and closed-captions.
King Alphonse and Queen Gertrude forgot to invite the Wicked Fairy to the party for their new baby Beauty. The Wicked Fairy came anyway and placed a curse on her. When Beauty turned sixteen, she pricked her finger on a spinning wheel and fell asleep for one hundred years. The wonderful story of the lovely princess put to sleep for a century has been made more charming than ever with the addition of selected sentences in American Sign Language (ASL). Fullcolor illustrations bring this classic to glorious life, and line drawings of more than 30 sentences rendered in ASL offer new dimensions of imagination while also strengthening young readers' language skills. The Sleeping Beauty videotape features the full story in ASL and includes vocabulary and sentence structure focusing on adjectives, with a voice-over throughout.
Features four Aesop fables in American Sign Language. At the end of each story are five activities that enable the user to improve his/her skills in using pronouns, sequencing, reading comprehension, synonyms (English and ASL), and vocabulary
Tortoise and the hare / signed by B. Bounds -- Milkmaid and her pail / signed by A. Brooker-Rutowski -- Fox and the grapes / signed by P. Rutowski -- Lion and the Mouse / signed by R. Piper
"Deaf storytellers Mindy Moore and Theron Parker ... use a dynamic five-step bilingual approach to skillfully narrate revered fables ... The DVD also includes discussion and other features designed to promote analysis fo each story's moral."--Container
The lion and the mouse -- The hare and the tortoise -- The shepherd boy and the wolf -- The ant and the grasshopper -- The lion and the bull -- The fox and the crow -- The fox and the grapes -- The travelers and the bear -- The blind man and the lame man -- The fox and the goat -- The boy and the nuts -- The mice in council -- The ant and the butterfly -- The milkmaid and her pail. In American Sign Language with English voice-over.
Now the tale of King Midas and his golden touch is charmingly retold with full-color illustrations and key sentences shown in American Sign Language (ASL). The line drawings of the storyteller (who appears in both the book and videotape) recreate 44 key sentences in ASL, making the new King Midas ideal for helping both hearing and deaf children to learn better reading skills. The King Midas videotape shows the entire classic story performed in ASL by the storyteller accompanied by a voice-over, including practice sentences from the book. A perfect complement to the book, the videotape further encourages the development of language skills while also providing an entertaining means to experience the full beauty and elegance of ASL and Deaf culture.
CJ Jones, Ivana Genievsky, Antoinette Abbamonte, Hillary Baack
An original American Sign Language adaptation that incorporates facial expressions, body movements, and signed language
"Young Alice Cogswell wants to enter the talent show but she's unsure of herself. After an audition that doesn't go her way, she gets some magic help. But will this magic help get her to the talent show and help her ASL poetry sparkle? Signed in American Sign Language with voice-over in English
Includes English subtitles and Fun Signs, a recap of key signs from the stories.
Storyteller, Anthony Naturale. Presentation of five children's stories, "The very hungry caterpillar," "The very busy spider," "Frederick," "If You Give a Mouse a Cookie," and "Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me," American Sign Language; voice over and captions in English.
School signs -- Haunted house -- Thanksgiving soon -- Winter solstice -- Class pet
Adrian Blue signs each story exactly as depicted in the book as the full text of each story is displayed. Then Janiah Mitchell, a student at the Pennsylvania School for the Deaf in Philadelphia, signs all of the stories again with her own interpretation. In American Sign Language with English subtitles.