International Business - DECS 550 - Supply Chain Capstone - InfoGuides at Rochester Institute of Technology

Last Updated: Mar 21, 2024 9:39 AM

Where to start?

This guide has library resources helpful for all the international business classes taught at RIT. Depending on the nature of your class you will need practical or scholarly information.

Need more help? Contact the business librarian Jennifer Freer jlfwml@rit.edu.

Our resources provide a variety of information including country profiles, data, news, analysis, forecasts, risk analysis, and etiquette.

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.

Country Profiles, Analysis, Forecasts, & Data

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides country overviews including political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews. Note some countries like Taiwan may not have separate entries. Check the formal name of the country or the appendix of a related country. The PDFs are out of date. Do not rely on Country Review PDF if you need information after 2016.

Intellectual Property Rights
Country Data
Time series data for various economic indicators from EIU.
Viewswire
Micro-news from countries via the EIU.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data as well as company info. Passport Help Guides and Videos B2C only
Europa World Year Book This link opens in a new window
Covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 1 user at a time. If you are prompted by Europa to login, that means someone is in the product. Wait 10-15 minutes and try again.

Country Commercial Guides
Free from the U.S. government. Each report is designed to help business people understand the basics of doing business in other countries.
globalEDGE
Free knowledge web-portal connecting international business professionals to information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.

Recommended by Professor Spadafora

News

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, selected journals, and reference books. How to search from the home page. How to do advanced searching.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-1 database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. Basic Search Demo and Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.

The Economist (browse by issue) via ProQuest
Browse by issue date.
The Economist (articles by most recent first) via ProQuest
Latest available articles from the magazine edition published each week. Will not include all content a personal subscription contains.

Deloitte Tax Guides and Country Highlights

Deloitte Tax Guides and Country Highlights
Free from the accounting firm Deloitte.

Risk

Risk & Insurance Reports for Dominican Repunlic
For DECS 550 Spring 2022
All Fitch Risk Reports (link expires 9/25/24)
In search bar AND ti(insert country name) to the search... don't forget to insert the country name! Not all countries have reports. Formerly BMI Risk Reports. If the link does not work go into the ProQuest database and search for pb(fitch) AND ti(country risk)