ⓘ RIT Ready: Protect and Persevere

For the health and safety of our community, we have reconfigured library spaces, modified access to collections, and added more virtual services. More information.

MGMT 759 Competitive Strategy: News

https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=419

Business News Resources (Premium Resources Purchased by RIT)

News Access

Does the library offer direct electronic access to major newspapers and magazines listed here?

We do not. Instead we offer secondary access through ProQuest and EBSCO through the links above. The articles represent the majority, but not all, of the articles published in the print versions of the publications. Most include text only with occasional images. For full and unrestricted access to any publication look at subscribing directly. Most of these publications offer student discounts. That said library access does provide a majority of the content.

Common Questions About Access to News

Common Questions

 

Why can't I just search in one place for news?

Not every publisher or source makes their articles available to every distributor or database? To be thorough search across all the resources above. They still don't cover everything but you will be searching the major newspapers and magazines.

 

Why isn't all the news just free on the web?

Gathering information, conducting interviews, analyzing documents, writing/producing and redistributing news is a huge, labor and resource intensive business so news entities want to make sure they are getting paid for the work they have done so our database providers pay for access to news content and RIT pays for access to the databases to provide you with access to the content.

 

Found a great article but there's no full text! What now?

Some distributors/databases are allowed to share the full text and others are only allowed to share basic info like a headline, date, author and maybe abstract.  RIT students have access to a system called Interlibrary Loan which can probably get you a copy of an article not available as full text in our databases. It's free and can be accessed here:

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon