Refine your search results by choosing a document type for obtaining primary sources, i.e., archival material, government document, image, manuscript, etc.
Locating Primary Source Documents in a Database or Newspaper Collection
Artstor includes over 2 million images covering art, architecture, archaeology, and photography; all available for use in research and teaching. Images come with high-quality metadata from collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves. Please note: As of August 1, 2024, Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality will be available on JSTOR. The stand-alone Artstor website will be retired. Most Artstor content is already available on JSTOR and can be accessed via https://ezproxy.rit.edu/login?url=https://www.jstor.org/images. DONATED: From the C. B. Neblette Collection on Photography and Reprography and a gift from Harold R. and Marian Condit.
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.
The LoC offers a large selection of topic based digital collections which offer digital scans of photographs, manuscripts, artwork, maps, correspondence, and more.
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. To search the entire collection, use the Search Tab. Or, click on a county to search or browse geographically.
This collection contains 1,375,872 issues comprising 13,834,364 pages.
This collection covers 19 northeast regional newspapers including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle from 1871 - 2011, the newspaper of record for the Rochester region.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
All-in-1 database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs. Basic Search Demo and Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.
A discovery tool for searching across 98% of RIT Libraries collections. Refine your search results by choosing a document type for obtaining primary sources, i.e., archival material, government document, image, manuscript, etc.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
