InfoGuides: MKTG 330 Global Marketing: Basic Country Resources

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2025 3:44 PM

Hello from Jennifer!

Hi! I am Jennifer Freer, your business librarian! I can help you navigate through the library business resources to find information, articles, and books. Need citation style assistance? I can support APA, MLA, Chicago and the citation tool Zotero. Want to learn more about Generative AI and business research? Just let me know and I can help you understand what GenAI is, how it works and what role it does and does not play in business research.

The green button above has links to book an appointment or try to catch me on chat. Email jlfwml@rit.edu to ask questions if that works better for you!

GenAI & Business Research

Use these sources to get basic info on countries

COUNTRY PROFILES

CountryWatch
Provides country overviews including political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews.
Europa World Year Book
Covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 1 user at a time. If you are prompted by Europa to login, that means someone is in the product. Wait 10-15 minutes and try again.

CIA World Fact Book

MARKETING & INDUSTRY INFO

Passport
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.
IBISWorld
Change to Global Reports at left. Only has broad Global coverage and no country specific reports. 70+ industries.
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers)
Very limited, broad and basic MarketLine Reports found under Analyze Markets ->Market Research Reports. Search by country name in the title field.

NEWS

Proquest Complete
All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.

Sample ProQuest Search
Retrieves news from New York Times and Wall Street Journal with country name in article title. Substitute your country name with Spain.
Sample ProQuest search for country and possible keyowrd
This example searches for a country name in the TITLE field and the industry word anywhere in the items. Sorted by newest first.

CULTURE & ETIQUETTE

Global Road Warrior
Business culture, climate, culture and society and other information for the business traveler.

INTB Resources Tutorial

This video was made for INTB 225 but teaches some of the same databases.

INTB 225 Video