A nice overview of a product/service/industry?
IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry and market insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis. Reports include key statistics, analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, SWOT, and more. The majority of reports are for the US with approximately 75 global industries included.
There are also many specialized terms used in IBISWorld. One term not defined in the glossary but heavily used in reports is sector
From IBISWorld via and email exchange in Dec 2021: A sector can then be designated as either primary, secondary, tertiary or quaternary.
- Companies classified in the primary sector primarily extract and harvest resources from the earth, like agriculture, mining or forestry.
- The secondary sector comprises businesses that are involved in processing, manufacturing and construction.
- Businesses in the tertiary sector provide services, such as retailers or financial companies.
- Lastly, the quaternary sector is composed of knowledge-oriented businesses, such as educational institutions.
With each additional digit added to a NAICS code, the scope of the group of businesses narrows, leaving the most similar companies classified into industries with the longest codes. At the four-digit NAICS code level, companies receive the designation of industry group, which is subsequently further broken down into specific industries as additional fifth and sixth digits are added. An industry is the narrowest classification in NAICS and comprises companies operating in the same business sphere of the economy, with the most similar attributes.
Take a look at this definition of sector from Investopedia.
Passport This link opens in a new windowConsumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data as well as company info.
Passport Help Guides and Videos B2C only
Mintel This link opens in a new windowConsumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries.
Create an account to take advantage of downloading options. Once an account is created enter the product using the regular link above and log into your account using the account settings icon (a head) on the far right. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new windowBusiness database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.
Gartner This link opens in a new windowIT only coverage. Provides current reports on computing, information technology and telecommunications issues, trends, news and statistics. Access is provided by ITS.
If you are unfamiliar with NAICS and SIC codes take a look at these sites. They are classification numbers the US government uses to group like industries it has categorized. Not every industry is represented and not every information product uses these groupings.
The SIC system pre-dates NAICS and therefore does not account for industries which emerged after SIC was established. Some databases like Data Axle and Hoovers try to accommodate for this by adding extra digits beyond the 4 digit SIC code. These are not the same as NAICS.
Not all databases use NAICS or SIC codes for searching. It is only one of many methods to use.
The demographics of people in the United States in general?
Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowAccess to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.
Passport This link opens in a new windowConsumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data as well as company info.
Passport Help Guides and Videos B2C only
Mintel This link opens in a new windowConsumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries.
Create an account to take advantage of downloading options. Once an account is created enter the product using the regular link above and log into your account using the account settings icon (a head) on the far right. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Census DataPopulation and other data about the United States gathered by the US Census Bureau. This is a gateway to tons of data. The interface appears intuitive but has some not so obvious filters. Check out the YouTube page linked right after this entry.
Demographics of people in the United States who might buy a specific product/service?
Passport This link opens in a new windowConsumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data as well as company info.
Passport Help Guides and Videos B2C only
Mintel This link opens in a new windowConsumer market research and analyst insights for the US primarily with limited insights coverage for other countries.
Create an account to take advantage of downloading options. Once an account is created enter the product using the regular link above and log into your account using the account settings icon (a head) on the far right. NOTE: Our subscription does not permit the use or uploading of Mintel content or data into external applications, software or websites that use AI technology.
Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowAccess to demographic, lifestyle and consumer segment profiles. B2C only.
Business Demographics
Data Axle This link opens in a new windowBasic information on more than 60 million U.S. and Canadian businesses. Can be searched by company name or lists can be created by searching industry, geography or size. Public, private and non-profit entities. Also features a jobs search option powered by indeed.
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new windowBusiness database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.
MEDIA KITS
Try locating trade publications for the target industries. They may have Media Kits which detail the demographics of subscribers. For example let's say your product is sold to or competes with the semiconductor industry. The trade magazine Semiconductor Digest has a Media Kit to help advertisers know some of the demographics of those who subscribe to the magazine. Sometimes the data or general, sometimes detailed, sometimes for the person and sometimes for the business. Try a Google search site:.com "media kit" keyword
Example:
Company Profiles
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new windowExplore the world's companies through company overviews, financial statements, market share reports, market research, SWOT analyses, company histories, country/territory overviews along with articles from academic, trade, and news sources. The NOVELNY program and its online resources (currently from Gale and Britannica) will cease on June 30, 2024.
Investext This link opens in a new windowFinancial analyst reports on companies and industries. Mainly publicly traded companies. B2C and B2B
Competitors for a specific company?
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new windowBusiness database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.
Data Axle This link opens in a new windowBasic information on more than 60 million U.S. and Canadian businesses. Can be searched by company name or lists can be created by searching industry, geography or size. Public, private and non-profit entities. Also features a jobs search option powered by indeed.
Companies within an industry?
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new windowBusiness database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.
Data Axle This link opens in a new windowBasic information on more than 60 million U.S. and Canadian businesses. Can be searched by company name or lists can be created by searching industry, geography or size. Public, private and non-profit entities. Also features a jobs search option powered by indeed.
Market share?
Passport This link opens in a new windowConsumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data as well as company info.
Passport Help Guides and Videos B2C only
SWOT
IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry and market insights, comprehensive data and in-depth analysis. Reports include key statistics, analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and forecast performance, major industry participants, SWOT, and more. The majority of reports are for the US with approximately 75 global industries included.
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new windowBusiness database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.
The latest news about a company, industry, product or service?
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new windowAll-in-1 database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.
Basic Search Demo and
Advanced Search Demo. The advanced video is from 2015 but the concepts still apply.
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowArticles on business and management subjects from academic journals, trade publications and daily newspapers. Also includes Company Profiles.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new windowEntrepreneurship provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs. The NOVELNY program and its online resources (currently from Gale and Britannica) will cease on June 30, 2024.
Basic news about the United States economy?
New York Times Economy SectionFrom the NYT website a compilation of latest articles on the economy plus a few outside resources. NYT limits number of article non-subscribers can view. Access the library's ProQuest access
here.
CNBC on the EconomySegments and articles curated by CNBC on aspects of the economy.
Financials, profit/loss, income statements and balance sheets for companies?
Hoovers (D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new windowBusiness database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowFinancial data and company descriptions for U.S. and global public companies.
NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowInformation on companies, executives, industries, stocks, bonds, funds, dividends, and S&P investment advice. Great source for Industry Surveys for large public industries. B2C and B2B
Ratios and financials for industries to help build an income statement and balance sheet?
BizMiner This link opens in a new windowAccess to industry financial ratios and statistics on a national and regional level.
Last Thoughts
Use the open web! There may be information not listed above that supports your arguments for the viability of your product or service! When you do find info make sure it is reliable and truthful.
Do not use ChatGPT other generative tools to input your patentable or unique ideas as they may become part of teh training model depending on what service you use.
Verify any info you do get from a generative ai service as it maybe a hallucination! These services are amazing but they are not lexical or sematic search engines.
Read about hallucinations:
