InfoGuides: ILLS 444 Comics in the Archive: Databases: Finding articles

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2024 2:43 PM

Databases - Best Bets

Databases help you locate a variety of information sources -- basic introductory information on a topic (dictionary/encyclopedias), specific/in depth journal articles, news and magazine articles, high quality images. Below are selected key databases to assist you with your discovery and research in art history.

Some tips to keep in mind:

Often, you can search multiple databases at once
Think creatively about terms and try different permutations (e.g., some articles/databases might refer to "comics" while some might use “sequential art” more often)
Keep a list where you document what terms you searched and where (in which database, catalog, website, etc.) you searched them
Use Boolean operators to construct a powerful search

Smart Searching: Boolean Search
All Library Databases
Not finding what you need in the databases below? Browse this listing of all 200+ library databases to discover somewhere new to search!

Scholarly Article Databases

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database has hundreds of titles on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater and cultural studies. It has been designed to complement the following bibliographic databases: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.

Can't find the full text?

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan can be used to request a variety of materials including journal articles, physical books, book chapters, conference papers, media, patents, reports, theses and standards documents from RIT Libraries' Offsite Collections and from other libraries worldwide. You can go directly to the website to place your request or click on the [MORE!] button while searching the library databases for an item. Electronic items are delivered in PDF format.