International Information Resources - INTB 315 - Exporting & Global Sourcing - InfoGuides at Rochester Institute of Technology

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2025 3:44 PM

Hello from Jennifer!

Hi! I am Jennifer Freer, your business librarian! I can help you navigate through the library business resources to find information, articles, and books. Need citation style assistance? I can support APA, MLA, Chicago and the citation tool Zotero. Want to learn more about Generative AI and business research? Just let me know and I can help you understand what GenAI is, how it works and what role it does and does not play in business research.

The green button above has links to book an appointment or try to catch me on chat. Email jlfwml@rit.edu to ask questions if that works better for you!

GenAI & Business Research

Guide Link and QR Code

https://infoguides.rit.edu/intb315

Scan to Launch Guide

Where to start researching countries?

This page has library resources helpful for getting up to speed on basic information about countries.

Need more help? Contact the business librarian Jennifer Freer using the Green Button to the top right. You will find the email address, a chat widget (if Jennifer is online it will say Chat with Jennifer) and a button to make an appointment if you want to meet in real time on Zoom or in-person.

These resources provide a variety of information including country profiles, data, news, analysis, forecasts, risk analysis, and etiquette.

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.

Transportation Resources

Fitch Logistics and Freight Reports
Sorted by date. Browse for your country or add ti(countryname) to the search

International News

All of these resources will have company news. But not all companies get news coverage. Many large, publicly traded companies will show in the news, but on the flip side small private companies may get no coverage.

Proquest Complete
New York Times and Wall Street Journal coverage plus many trade journals and regional newspapers.
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides access to the latest news content from outside the United States and Canada, including archives of decades of coverage from newspapers, news agencies, and full-text websites. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from over 660 major newspapers in the world including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring collection of publications.
Newspaper Source
Selected full text for regional, US and international newspapers. Full text of major television & radio news transcripts are provided.

The Economist (browse by issue) via ProQuest
Browse by issue date.
The Economist (articles by most recent first) via ProQuest
Latest available articles from the magazine edition published each week. Will not include all content a personal subscription contains.
Browse New York Times by Issue - Text Only
This is the best way to see from the front page to the back pages. Why is that important? The most important stories of the day are usually on the front page. And the subject specific important stories are in the next sections.
Online Newspapers from Henrietta Public Library
Remote access from HPL is available to residents of Henrietta NY.
Don't live in Henrietta check your home public library to see what they offer. Many Monroe County (this is the county the Rochester area is in) libraries offer similar access.
HPL started in January 2024 HPL to offer remote direct New York Times and Washington Post for those living in Henrietta which includes RIT students living in the dorms which is located in Henrietta!

Political and Economic Country Profiles, Analysis, Forecasts, & Data

CountryWatch
Provides country overviews including political, economic, investment, social, and environmental overviews.

Re: CountryWatch: Some countries like Taiwan may not have separate entries. Check the formal name of the country or the appendix of a related country. Information about countries is presented on the web pages and also in a Country Review PDF. Keep in mind the Country Review PDFs will lag slightly from the web pages. Keep this in mind and check the end of each section when reading the PDF to know when that section was last updated. This is especially important where major events have occurred in the last 12 months.

Passport
Passport is used to understand consumer markets. Our subscription has limited business-to-business info. A great starting point in here is the country report called PEST Analysis. The construction of the title is Pest Analysis: COUNTRY NAME. An example would be Pest Analysis: France. The search bar is very limited and will look for report titles.
NOTE: The interface for this product will change on 9/3/24.
Europa World Year Book
Covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. 1 user at a time. If you are prompted by Europa to login, that means someone is in the product. Wait 10-15 minutes and try again.

Country Commercial Guides (CCG)
These are free reports from the U.S. government to help business people understand the basics of doing business in other countries.
CIA World Fact Book
EIU Publications Feed via ProQuest (link expires 8/29/25))
The Economist Intelligence Unit is the publisher of The Economist and many newsletters about countries.

Individual EIU Feeds by Publication

Country Forecast
From the Economist Intelligence Unit. Country by country reports. To find your country click teh link and then run this search ti(country name) filling in your country name. Example: ti(belgium)
EIU Viewswire
Micro-news from countries via the EIU. Use the Revise Search button to adjust our search for a specific country.
EIU Country Data
Time series data for various economic indicators from EIU. Browse by Location when screen opens.
OECD Economic Outlook
OECD's twice-yearly analysis of the major global economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Each report covers multiple countries.
Intellectual Property Rights
globalEDGE
Free knowledge web-portal connecting international business professionals to information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
Corruption Perception Index
UNCTAD Statistics
IMF Data
OECD Data
United Nations Data

Risk

Risk Reports, such as those from Fitch, provide in one place an overview of a country's political and economic risk. Note these reports might be produced once, twice, or four times a year so note the date of the report. You will then use news to catch up since the date of the report to see if there have been any significant issues in the country. Other companies produce Risk Reports but RIT only has access to Fitch.

Country Risk Reports (only) from Fitch Solutions (link expires 9/1/26)
Underlying search in ProQuest pb(fitch) AND ti(risk)

Industry & Market Research Internationally

Passport
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.

Industry Reports from Fitch (link expires 9/3/26)

Hoovers (D&B Hoovers)
Business database providing company overviews on millions of companies. Records for publicly traded companies include financials. Having trouble accessing Hoovers? Use your browser's incognito or private mode. This option is usually located in a drop down menu accessed from three dots or lines on the top right. Alternatively try a browser you never or rarely use or clear the cookies from your browser of choice. THE DATABASE IS NOT DOWN -- the issue is related to cookies stored in browsers.

Country Reports from Fitch Solutions (link expires 9/1/26)
International industry reports. Not all industries in all countries covered. Browse or search for ti(insert country name) If link is broken go to ProQuest and run this search pub(Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports).

IBISWorld
RIT's subscription includes a small library of Global reports. Run a search for Global and you will get a list to browse. There are no individual country reports.
Passport
Consumer lifestyle and consumer industry market research reports for countries around the globe. Also includes downloadable economic, population, income, product and lifestyle data. DONATED: The McClure Collection given by J. Warren and Lois McClure in support of the RIT College of Business.

Deloitte Tax Guides and Country Highlights

Deloitte Tax Guides and Country Highlights
Free from the accounting firm Deloitte.

Etiquette & Culture

Global Road Warrior
Business culture, climate, culture and society and other information for the business traveler.

Geert-Hofstede
"Insights into national and organisational culture." Free. Library does not provide premium access.

Export Controls

Trade Data

FDI Flows from ITC
Free resource. The International Trade Centre’s Investment Map database collects yearly Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) statistics for about 200 countries and detailed FDI sectoral and/or country breakdown for about 115 countries. The Investment Map helps Investment Promotion Agencies identify priority sectors and competing countries for foreign investments, as well as existing and potential foreign investors. It also helps companies identify potential locations for investment abroad.
International Trade Administration (US GOV) Trade Data
US Government resource for competing in the global marketplace.
International Trade Data from the US Census
World Trade Organization - Trade and Tariff Data

INTB 315 - Exporting & Global Sourcing: International Information Resources