Artstor provides access to images from across the globe, including set design, architecture, textiles, costumes, and jewelry. Used the advanced search to filter by date and geography!
AP Newsroom contains photographs, graphics, breaking news, feature stories, and audio clips produced by the AP’s network of award-winning journalists. Contains 170 years of news stories, 12 million historical and contemporary images, and an extensive collection of audio clips.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, including all advertisements and photography. The Vogue archive is very helpful for getting a taste of a certain time period (or even certain month!).
LIFE Magazine was a "photographic magazine" that "chronicled the 20th Century." You can now browse the magazine's archive of issues (1936-1972) via Google Books. Find bound issues on the shelf in the oversized periodicals, AP2 .L547.
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching the span of the 20th century. Most were never published and are now available through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955." Use the Date option to browse by decade.
Provides cultural perspective and insight to the events that shaped the United States. Covering everything from major events to everyday life, these titles are invaluable research tools for studying American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and art. For a list of newspapers click here.
This collection covers 19 northeast regional newspapers including the Rochester Democrat & Chronicle from 1871 - 2011, the newspaper of record for the Rochester region.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
