InfoGuides: SOFA 206: Directing: Databases: Researching Productions

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2024 11:47 AM

Production Details

Internet Broadway Database
Maintained by the Broadway League, this site considers itself "The official source for Broadway information, statistics, dates, cast, crew and creative staff credits, roles and related facts"
Playbill Vault
Playbill Vault contains cast lists, awards information, digital Playbills and more for a variety of shows--dating back to the early 20th century.
Internet Off-Broadway Database
The Internet Off-Broadway Database, also known as the IOBDB, provides a catalogue of all shows ever produced Off-Broadway.

New York Times (1851-present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the US newspaper of record. Offers superb coverage of national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions, and presidential press conference transcripts.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center is a comprehensive literature database featuring biographical entries and author portraits, critical essays, reviews, overviews of frequently studied works, and thousands of full-text poems, short stories, and plays.
Proquest Literature and Theater This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in literature and theater and related disciplines.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations.