ⓘ Library Under Construction

The library’s circulating books, journals, and many of its services are now located in the Ritter Ice Arena. More information.

Museum Studies: Image Databases

This guide will help you get started with your museum studies and public history research. In addition to recommending useful databases, this guide provides information about museums, collections, and exhibitions, professional organizations, how to keep i
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=242622

Image Databases

Content includes over 2 million images covering art, architecture, archaeology and photography. Software tools support teaching and research uses.

Photo archive containing the Associated Press' photos, most since 1995, and a selection of pictures from their image library.

Contains full text for popular magazines and reference books, and includes biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection

Contains the full text of the entire Dictionary of Art, from prehistory to present. Includes many images.

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue.

 An online journal and archive of new media art covering a vast range of projects by artists all over the world that employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers to aesthetics and critical ends.

Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life. Thousands of pages of materials provide scholars with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women's reform organizations throughout the United States during the 19th and early 20th centuries.

This site has "exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world." In addition to browsing the site for museum objects, you can use this tool to "create your own galleries and share favorite finds with friends."

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon