ⓘ Library Under Construction

The library’s circulating books, journals, and many of its services are now located in the Ritter Ice Arena. More information.

Museum Studies: Open Access Digital Collections

This guide will help you get started with your museum studies and public history research. In addition to recommending useful databases, this guide provides information about museums, collections, and exhibitions, professional organizations, how to keep i
https://infoguides.rit.edu/prf.php?account_id=242622

Open Access Digital Collections

ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.

Interactive collections and experiences.

More than 50,000 images of works in the collection

Roughly half of an 18,600-strong collection, including the world-famous group of works by Klimt and Schiele

Nearly 2,500 images from across the eight municipal collections looked after by the trust. More are gradually being added.

30,000 works from the collection

More than 200,000 images available from the university’s collections of 250,000 objects

More than 100,000 images from the museum and the Getty Research Center archives

More than 4,100 photographs of works in the public domain

Millions of images from the national archives

Nearly 20,000 images from the collections

The full collection of more than 800 works, mainly by Dutch and Flemish masters

More than 400,000 images

Access to more than 50,000 works

One of the world’s largest single-artist collections: 1,150 paintings and some 18,000 prints, free to download

Around 30,000 images from New Zealand’s state collections

The Czech Republic’s national collections in Prague

More than 51,000 works in the public domain

More than 50,000 images from 20 institutions across Denmark

6,000 images – most of the collection – via Wikimedia Commons

180,000 items, free to share and reuse

320,000 images from 14 Parisian institutions, including the Petit Palais and the Catacombs

360,000 images – more than a third of the collection

As of August 2021, more than 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from Smithsonian Collections—with many more to come. Currently includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.

The Smithsonian Collections Search Center is an online catalog containing most of Smithsonian major collections from their museums, archives, libraries, and research units.

Full access to out-of-copyright works. Strong on Munich-based painters of the 19th and early 20th centuries

Around 15,000 works (of a quarter of a million) have been photographed in hi-res, with all public domain images free to download and use

Thousands of archival images from the science collections at the museum and library

Some 250,000 images from the university collections, including the Art Gallery and the Yale Center for British Art

Edit this Guide

Log into Dashboard

Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.

Facebook icon  Twitter icon  Instagram icon  YouTube icon