UWRT 150 Writing Seminar (Schmitz): Book Review Resources

• Book Reporter

        "A site dedicated to book lovers providing a forum to discover and share commentary about the books and authors they enjoy. Author
         interviews, book reviews, and more!"

• Bookwire
  "Content includes timely book industry news, features, reviews, original fiction, guides to literary events, author interviews, and thousands of annotated links."
• H-Net Reviews
  H-Net Reviews bring a new dimension to the world of academic publishing. Our reviews are published online via discussion networks and the H-Net web site. This permits our reviews to reach scholars with a speed unmatched in any other medium. It also makes a new kind of interactivity possible, as reviewers, authors and readers engage in discussions of the reviews online. Through the power of e-mail and the web H-Net has helped pioneer online scholarly reviewing.
• New York Times: Books
  "Find book reviews and news about authors, new books, best sellers, fiction and non-fiction, literature, biographies, memoirs, children's books, the Pulitzer Prizes and the Nobel Prize in Literature."
• NPR: Books
  "NPR brings you news about books and authors along with our picks for great reads. Interviews, reviews, the NPR Bestseller Lists, New in Paperback and much more."
• Washington Post: Books
  "Book reviews and news about new books, best sellers, authors, literature, biographies, memoirs, children's books, fiction, non-fiction and more."

• American Book Review  
  "Nationally-distributed review medium which treats the literary publications of the small, large, and university, regional, minority and feminist presses."
• Atlantic Monthly  
  "Covers the important issues of the day, from public policy and social trends to arts and humanities. Also contains sections on travel, food, and contemporary fiction and poetry."
• Booklist  
  "Booklist is a book-review magazine that has been published by the American Library Association for more than 100 years, and is widely viewed as offering the most reliable reviews to help libraries decide what to buy and to help library patrons and students decide what to read, view, or listen to."
• Choice  
  "Reviews of scholarly books and quality nonfiction titles commonly in a college or university library or on a scholar's bookshelf."

  Current issue available in Print.
• Kirkus Reviews  
  Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.
• Library Journal  
  "The single-most comprehensive publication in the field Library Journal delivers groundbreaking features, news, technology and analysis, along with nearly 7000 book reviews and 100's of reviews on audio books, videos, databases, systems and software."
• London Review of Books
  "Covers anthropology, the arts, history, literary and political reviews, poetry, short stories, sociology, philosophy and biography."
• Magill Book Reviews  
  "Provide summaries of classic literature as well as current best sellers with 500 new reviews added each year."
• New York Review of Books (Print)
  "The New York Review of Books has served as a forum for writers and thinkers to discuss not only current books but also the provocative and complex issues of American culture, society, economics, politics, and the arts."
• New York Times Book Review  
  "Presents reviews of both fiction and non-fiction, as well as essays relating to literary culture."
• Publishers Weekly  
  "News and analyses of book publishing for publishers, booksellers, agents, librarians, writers, educators and people involved in movies, radio and television."
• QBR: The Black Book Review
  "Dedicated to books about the African American experience. Contains fiction, nonfiction, poetry, children's books, and health and lifestyle management."
• Rain Taxi Review of Books
  "Rain Taxi Review is a nonprofit organization that publishes book reviews, essays, and interviews with a focus on literary small press books."
• Review of Contemporary Fiction
  "Devoted to criticism of contemporary fiction. Includes essays, interviews, fiction and book reviews."
• Small Press Review  
  "The Small Press Review is a magazine with review columns, information and helpful hints on getting published. Published bi-monthly, it contains up-to-date and late-breaking news on the small press and small magazine industry."
• Times Literary Supplement (TLS)
  "Literary supplement with comprehensive weekly selection of new and forthcoming books received by TLS. Provides full hardback and paperback publication details, including date, price and ISBN. Coverage of world literature, history, politics and the arts."