InfoGuides: NENG 231 Bridge to College English: Intersectionality

Last Updated: Oct 25, 2024 3:38 PM

Finding Encyclopedias and Books

You may need to use keywords like multiculturalism, diversity, minorities and related terms to find books on this topic. Check out the book Identity Development of College Students: Advancing Frameworks for Multiple Dimensions of Identity.

There are encyclopedias on various ethnic groups and minorities such as the following:

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Encyclopedia of Language and Education
Encyclopedia of Religion
Encyclopedia of Disability
The Encyclopedia of African-American Education
Historically Black Colleges and Universities: An Encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender history in America.
Multicultural America: An Encyclopedia of the Newest Americans

Search the Library Catalog

Other Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational films and videos including titles from PBS, the BBC, CNN, celebrated documentarians, TED Talks, National Geographic, and more. RIT subscribes to a faculty-curated collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.

Start with these Databases

CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reporting & analysis of political & social issues, with topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology & the U.S. economy.
EBSCO This link opens in a new window
When you get in this database, look above the search bar to check off appropriate databases for your topic: Academic Search, Communication and Mass Media, Professional Development, eBooks, ERIC, PsycART and PsycInfo.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
When you get in, look at the top and click on databases to check off appropriate databases for your topic: eBook Central, Education, Women and Gender, MLA, Language and International Studies, Linguistics and Language, ERIC, Sociology, Psychology, Social Science, and others.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) is an online interface that provides integrated access to thousands of full-text articles, documents, Internet resources and graphics from SIRS highly-acclaimed reference databases.

Check out the PBS videos.

What does MORE do for me?

Tag with the word more! in black font against a yellow background.

Check to see if we have the full text of your item whenever you see the MORE button! If a copy is not automatically found, an option to submit an order for the full text will appear! Click the button now to see what happens!