InfoGuides: MSSE: Secondary Deaf Education: Scholarly Articles

Finding Scholarly Articles

The image is a journal cover entitled (white font) "Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education". The background is medium blue and on the left-hand side, there is a white outlined rectangular box with an image of a gold spikes logo. The library has many databases that have scholarly articles. However, there are a few Deaf and Interpreting core journals that publish the most articles related to this topic. Most of the time your professor will ask you to find empirical studies. An empirical study includes scientific methodology based on experimentation, systematic observation, or measurement, rather than theoretical formulation. Check the article to see what type of publication it is. For example, you do not want reviews, books, or literature reviews. Check out Research Rabbit, a literature review tool.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Journal of the American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
American Annals of the Deaf
Deafness & Education International
Deaf Worlds
Journal of ASL and ASL Literature
Sign Language Studies
Volta Review
Deaf Studies Digital Journal

Trade Magazine
Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education

Disability Journals
Some of your assignments may require you to find articles in disability journals. Some of these journals are available online.

You can search within the journal to retrieve articles or use the databases below. Use the A-Z Journal List to find journal print and online holdings.

Tip: Check the bibliography or references at the end of articles to find more works.You must access the databases through the library website. If you go to Google and find an article you like and it asks you to pay for it, DO NOT pay for it. It is probably in our databases or you can get the article for free through our interlibrary loan services.

Research Rabbit Presentation

Start With These Databases

Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new window
When you get in, look above the search bar and click databases to check off the following as appropriate for your topic: ERIC, eBooks, Communication and Mass Media, Professional Development, MAS Ultra Search, and others.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 600 high quality, peer reviewed journals from leading scholarly publishers primarily in the humanities and social sciences. We subscribe to the premium collection.
Proquest Complete This link opens in a new window
All-in-one database that provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study including arts, business, humanities, health, social sciences, sciences and current affairs.

Interlibrary Loan Services

Many articles are available as full text in the library databases but sometimes the publishers hold back the full article. You can order articles that we do not have in our collection. This is a free service. Take these steps to obtain an article that is not available electronically:

Check to see if we subscribe to the print edition.
ILL requests usually take 3-5 business days and will be delivered electronically into your account.

Other Relevant Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Features full-text articles (backfiles) of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Access includes content from the primary sources collections, multidisciplinary collections, and discipline specific collections. JSTOR also features multimedia content and includes Artstor, a cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million images for use in research and teaching.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search SAGE journal articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of journals and books published by Springer, covering the sciences, technology, computer science and medicine
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Our subscription provides access to over 1500 journals. Electronic books are not part of our subscription.