The image at left is from RIT Archives. My responsibilities as the NTID Librarian are to help develop The Deaf Studies, Culture & History Archive gather collections, and teach classes using the collection.
The Deaf Studies, Culture, & History Archive has interesting collections related to the NTID and Rochester Deaf AND international communities. The Finding Aids are available for your review. Please note that there are more collections beyond what is shown in this guide and the finding aids.
The RIT Archives is in the library building and is open Monday-Friday from 9 am-12 pm and 1 pm-5 pm. It is best to make appointments with the archivists. You can email the archivists using the contact page.
Faculty, if you are interested in booking a class to review these or other items, please get in touch with Joan Naturale, NTID Librarian at jxnwml@rit.edu or call 585-286-4635 (V/VP).
Highlighted Deaf Studies, Culture & History Archive Collections
View a PDF of a PowerPoint to get an idea of our rich collections.
Links
Recommended links to Deaf Museums and Archves and Deaf History periodicals are listed for your review.
NTID History Highlights
Find materials related to the founding of NTID, the National Advisory Group of which Robert F. Panara was a member, Ralph Hoag papers, groundbreaking activities, Lyndon B. Johnson's pen that signed the 1965 NTID bill, and more..
Deaf Organizations Highlights
Deaf Women of Rochester, the Empire Association of the Deaf, and other community Deaf organizations contributed collections.
Education Highlights
Find out more about Tripod, the first bilingual/bicultural school in the U.S. that educated both deaf and hearing children using sign language in the classroom. Discover a 19th century diary written by a Deaf student attending the New York Institute of the Deaf (Fanwood), and more.
Technology Highlights
View deaf technological devices such as the first TV Phone called the Vista Phone, film projector, caption decoders, light signalers, TDDs, the first TTY modem, and TTYs. Look at the Lee Brody's collection which covers his business and inventions, including the Deaf-Blind Braille TTY.
Theatre and Film Highlights
Discover the rich collections of the National Theatre of the Deaf, NTID Drama Club, Bernard Bragg, Lights On, the Deaf Rochester Film Festivals, Deaf Film Posters, and related materials.
Visual Arts Highlights
We have De'VIA collections, and individual art pieces by Deaf Artists.
Poetry and Literature Highlights
The Lerners' ASL poetry collection which led to a documentary film created by Miriam, has unique materials related to the ASL Poetry movement in Rochester. Review some of the ASL Literature and Poetry coonference materials. View the Robert F. Panara's Deaf Literature collection.
Deaf and Holocaust Highlights
Information about the Deaf experience and video interviews are included in these collections of Durr and Ely.
Periodicals (Newspapers & Magazines)
See examples of Deaf publications such as the Rochester Deaf News, the Silent News, Deaf Life, and related publications.
Use of RIT resources is reserved for current RIT students, faculty
and staff for academic and teaching purposes only.
Please contact your librarian with any questions.
