InfoGuides: Foundations (FDTN): Databases-articles, images, streamed video

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2024 11:47 AM

Databases -- Best Bets

Databases help you find journal articles, images and video tutorials. Below are selected key databases to assist you with your discovery and research. You can also look at any of the other databases we have access to at RIT!

Article/Journal + Dictionary

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles in art, craft, design, film photography and more.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full-Text journal articles in many disciplines including, art, craft, design, film and animation and photography.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Full text of Oxford English Dictionary.

Image Collections

Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Artstor includes over 2 million images covering art, architecture, archaeology, and photography; all available for use in research and teaching. Images come with high-quality metadata from collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves. Please note: As of August 1, 2024, Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality are available exclusively on JSTOR. The stand-alone Artstor website is retired. Please update your bookmarks. DONATED: From the C. B. Neblette Collection on Photography and Reprography and a gift from Harold R. and Marian Condit.

Video Resources

Stash
Provides streaming access to the planet's largest online video archive of design, animation, and VFX – over 5,000 motion projects – plus behind the scenes features and exclusive interviews.
Rhizome
An online journal and archive of new media art covering a vast range of projects by artists all over the world that employ materials such as software, code, websites, moving images, games and browsers to aesthetics and critical ends.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a video streaming service including movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Online/Video Tutorials

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
An online learning platform with video tutorials in a number of disciplines: 3D, video, business, photography, web design, graphic design, and more. Many tutorials are captioned.